Spicy Basil Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Delicious! I was looking for a recipe to recreate my favorite meal from our local Thai restaurant. This was right on the money. I couldn't find the chiles, so I used a Thai chili sauce instead. Incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Dragland Nix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcadia, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I made this dish for dinner tonight, substituting tofu for the chicken, and I have to say it was pretty amazing. I did cut down the oyster sauce to roughly 2 Tbs instead of 5 and it was still a little too strong on its own, but perfect mixed into rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
My family and I love spicy food and Thai food so this recipe was great for us. It was easy to make and tasted so good.I will for sure make this a regular meal in our house now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
The basil really makes this delicious dish! I am gluten intolerant and my husband is allergic to shellfish, so I replaced the oyster sauce with 2tbs fish sauce, 2 tbs tamari, and 1 tbs honey. I also added sliced red peppers and green beans. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
wonderful! I like extra spicy food so I used a spicy oyster sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This recipe was great! A little on the spicy side though - I will use 1/2 chili oil, 1/2 olive oil in the future. (I ended up adding some brown sugar to combat the spiciness and it still tasted awesome.) Also, I turned this into more of a stir fry and threw in some Sugar Snap Peas and Baby Carrots along with the Mushrooms. And I chopped some Cilantro with the Basil... Served with Coconut Rice instead of White Rice & it was FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Best Thai food I ever tried at home! I substituted serano peppers for the chili peppers (store didn't have any chili peppers) and it was excellent with the substitution. If you like your food spicy this is for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steveweis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wixom, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Loved this recipe..definitely a keeper. I used all of the ingredients except for the onion and mushrooms. I added red bell pepper. I also omitted the garlic salt, and upped the cloves of garlic to 4. Like other reviewers, I added a cup of water when adding the oyster sauce, to give more sauce and cut down on saltiness. This definitely had some kick, but I also did not take the seeds out of the peppers. I like my Thai food spicy. I used rice noodles and this was outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
This was excellent. Easy, quick, healthy. My boyfriend actually commented on this dish and asked that I keep it in the rotation. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORIANNEV
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Super tasty!!! But very spicy. I've never used some of the ingredients before and had to go on a hunt but well worth it it. I was a fool in thinking more chili oil would be a good idea, stay with the recipe or use less of the spicy stuff, or use olive oil !! Great as left overs as well. I replaced the basil with green onions, still great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy Kung Pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States