Spicy Basil Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Great Taste: add some snow peas for better presentation and added texture. Flavors overall are wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I have used this recipe a bunch of times and it is always a hit with family and guests. I like to serve it over linguine. I recommend using a lot of onion even if you are not a huge fan. The taste of the onion is not heavy and it lends an excellent texture to the meal. The 2 Tablespoons of Chili Oil make it very hot. I use 1.5 T Chili Oil and 1.5 T Sesame Oil and 5 Thai Chilis. The Sesame Oil adds a nutty taste that I enjoy. I also use about 2.5 lbs of chicken and it finishes with a good amount of heat. I think the flavor is also enhanced when you use Thai Basil. If you can get it at an Asian Grocery Store or an International Market, I would recommend taking the time to do it. Side note; Thai Basil really makes lasagna shine. I always make the two dishes back to back. I was hesitant to use the oyster sauce at first but it does add a nice flavor to the finished product. I only use about 3 T though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Always a hit in my house. Super spicy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Loved this! Didn't dare tell DH that I added oyster sauce, otherwise he wouldn't have eaten it. I've been collecting recipes that make use of fresh basil since we love it so much, and this really fits the bill! I sauted the onion, mushrooms, and (a tiny habanero) pepper in the chili oil first, since that's what I usually do. Next I added the chicken and garlic so the garlic wouldn't burn. I used a little less oyster sauce than it called for (on the suggestion of others) and added about 1/2 cup water, 2 packets of Truvia, pepper, chopped broccoli, and green beans, since I had these on hand. After letting this cook for 3-4 minutes, I added 1 teaspoon cornstarch mixed with a little cold water. After letting this simmer for a few minutes to thicken the sauce, I added the chopped basil. Served this over brown rice, and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeSkiVa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
This recipe was fantastic! I couldn't believe the taste of this. It was a flavour explosion, literally in my mouth. I also didn't add the chili oil and just used a good olive oil. I also tossed in cilantro as well as some lime juice at the end. MmmmmM Everyone should try this. Here's a tip, use red onion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Really enjoyed this recipe. Modified it based on preferences and availability of ingredients. Used olive oil, omitted garlic salt (per other reviews), knocked the oyster sauce down to 4 tbsp, added sliced red bell pepper instead of onion, and sprinkled in some chili flakes to up the spice level. Served with rice, and really enjoyed the balance of spice, and slight sweetness. Thanks for a quick and tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Excellent. Simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Goit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunnville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Truro, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
Very good! Eyeballed the measurements, skipped the garlic salt and used extra fresh garlic instead, and used five birds eye chillis because I wanted it pretty spicy. Used bone in chicken, and added added some water after adding all the ingredients except the basil. Covered and let it boil down to a nice gravy. I tasted this before adding the basil, and again after, the fresh basil really makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiren K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
My favorite Basil Chicken recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Kydd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
This tasted pretty good after a few tweaks: added some fish sauce and lime juice. I also made the recipe in a slightly different order than the printed recipe. I stir-fried the chicken in chili oil until slightly browned, then added the mushrooms and onions. When the onions were tender, I added the garlic, garlic salt, sugar, and pepper and the oyster sauce. Threw in a good splash of fish sauce, and the juice of a lime: sweet, salty, spicy, sour. Turned out great and the hubby loved it. Served with Thai cucumber salad from this website. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyd_Delve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States