Spicy Basil Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I did not care for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
This made a lot of extra sauce, so next time I'm going to try tossing it with some of those extra-wide rice noodles that come with Thai Drunken Noodles, I think that would complement the dish perfectly. I left out the garlic salt and added an extra clove, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. We loved it, and did not find it too salty, and I'm pretty salt-sensitive. Maybe a good strategy is to start with two tablespoons of oyster sauce, then taste it frequently as you add more. My guess is that some oyster sauces are more salty than others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This was delicious. If you like spicy food, this is for you. I did what everyone else seemed to do and up the garlic to 5 cloves, 1 cup of water and 1/2 c oyster sauce because I was planning on adding udon noodles at the end. Noodles sucked that juice right up. I also used those little frozen basil cubes you can find in the freezer section instead of fresh because the grocery store didn't have fresh. I used a little more than half the tray and it tastes great! I almost had to wear a mask cooking this because it was so spicy, I was coughing! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
We loved this recipe. Omitted chili oil because i didn't have it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Being that this was the first time I cooked Thai food, I was nervous. I cut out the chili oil and took out one pepper and it turned out to be perfectly spicy. Really, really delicious recipe. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This was a fun recipe to make. Whenever I have to take a knife to chicken I do when it is frozen or semi frozen -- it just makes it easier to cut. Since this is a Thai dish I placed the still frozen chicken chunks into a bowl with one can of coconut water with pulp, and added a pinch of red pepper flakes and 1 tbs dried basil (I didn't have any fresh basil and the store was fresh out.). I let the chicken soak while I prepped the rest of the vegetables. Instead of hot peppers I used 6 mini peppers, 3 red, 2 yellow and 1 orange. I upped the garlic to 5 gloves and nixed the garlic salt. I used a bunch of scallions instead of a onion, and added a dozen baby carrots and 2 stalks of celery. After I added the oyster sauce I poured in the reserved coconut water I used with the chicken and let it reduce at a simmer for about 20 minutes. I served this on top of a bed of white rice and used a quarter of a lime to add a spritz of fresh lime juice. The kids loved it and there were no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Four stars with dry basil. I am guessing it'll be five with fresh. Nice flavor. I used 1/3 tsp garlic powder vs 1 tsp garlic salt to cut down on saltiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kabee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Great Taste: add some snow peas for better presentation and added texture. Flavors overall are wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I have used this recipe a bunch of times and it is always a hit with family and guests. I like to serve it over linguine. I recommend using a lot of onion even if you are not a huge fan. The taste of the onion is not heavy and it lends an excellent texture to the meal. The 2 Tablespoons of Chili Oil make it very hot. I use 1.5 T Chili Oil and 1.5 T Sesame Oil and 5 Thai Chilis. The Sesame Oil adds a nutty taste that I enjoy. I also use about 2.5 lbs of chicken and it finishes with a good amount of heat. I think the flavor is also enhanced when you use Thai Basil. If you can get it at an Asian Grocery Store or an International Market, I would recommend taking the time to do it. Side note; Thai Basil really makes lasagna shine. I always make the two dishes back to back. I was hesitant to use the oyster sauce at first but it does add a nice flavor to the finished product. I only use about 3 T though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Always a hit in my house. Super spicy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy Kung Pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States