Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
These really were easy to make! My neice watched me make them and then made them for my dad (her grandpa) a few days later. We didn't dip them in anything. Served with turkey burgers for a healthier burger 'n fries dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2005
These were great because I don't like regular potatoes. I made them with cinnamon spice and a sugar/salt mixture. They do get crispier if you cut them up in smaller strips so I reccommend that. I bet you could dip these in some great sauces....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Warrington, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2005
BURNED! With all the work I did to cut the sweet potatoes too! Next time, I'll just bake them. What a waste! Maybe mine were too thin? Dimensions may have helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2005
Oh so tasty. I scaled the recipe in half, and did a mix of my own seasoning. I only have two complaints: I only need 30 minutes to cook my fries, and I had them cut like thick steak fries. Secondly, and this is not the recipe's fault, after I cooked them, I wrapped them in aluminum foil to keep them warm while I put something else in the oven, and they got a little soggy. Otherwise, they were good, and my 13 month old thought they were intense, but tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
Be careful to cut the fries all the same size so they cook evenly. Otherwise, some will burn while others won't be cooked enough. Also, feel free to mix up your own blend of spices to personalize your fries! We found 2 large sweet potatoes made more than enough fries for 2 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
All of the fries burned. I don't know how they taste, because I never got to try them. :( Thanks for a ruined dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
I can't believe so many people had a problem with the fries burning. Mine took over an hour to cook, and I think I sliced them thin (about the size of Wendy's fries). My family loved them. I used 4 large sweet potatoes and three of us gobbled them up looking for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
Overall, these were good/average but I wish they had been crispier though I used my convection oven. Kids wouldn't touch them. Went well with BBQ sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
The spices on these fries make them addictive but I've made them twice now and haven't achieved quite the right texture yet. The first batch had skinnier fries and many seemed to dry and shrivel. The second batch I made thicker fries but they never seemed to get crisp on the outside, they were just kind of soggy. Hmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
The spices were not evenly spread on the potatoes, and some pieces were burnt, but since I fried mine on the grill, I was expecting a more rustic experience. Perhaps a little flour would help crisp up the outside or perhaps deep frying. That would increase the oil and calorie count. It was nice for something different with sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 387) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Baked Sweet Potatoes

See a healthier take on classic baked potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States