Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
After reading all the reviews, I didn't even try the taco seasoning. I used Tony Sachiere's (sp?) instead. I've made it twice now, following the cooking instructions, and both times they burned around the edge of the pan. I'm going to try one more time and use more potatoes (so the pan is more crowded) and slice them a little thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
These are not good at all. No one in my family liked them even a little bit. I turned the oven down to 400 like some others suggested and after 30 minutes the bottoms were black. So, half of them burned but they were actually the best tasting because they were the only ones that weren't soggy. Plus, cutting sweet potatoes is hard. I will not make these again. Maybe chips would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
These are just so gorgeous. I did follow other people advice and lowered the oven temperature. I used PAM spray instead of Canola oil and also used Cajun seasoning in place of taco seasoning. The only negative for me was that I could not get these to crisp, next time I will cut back on the oil and play around with them a bit. Even so they were still wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I could not get these crispy enough to my liking without burning them. I tried this twice (with Red Robin french fry seasoning which was delicious), but both times the fries burned. 1 hour at 400 or 425 is way too long. If I try this again, it will be at 350 for maybe 40 minutes max.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
With adjustments, 5 stars. Not the prettiest fries, but so good-- I love them to taste like sweet potatoes (not seasoning) and they are wonderful. I just don't like the process of cutting the sweet potatoes into fries. I did try making these with the seasoning, and that deserved 1 star, definitely recommend leaving that out. You also don't need a lot of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
Burnt Burnt Burnt. I really should have gone with my instinct on this one. It seemed like such high heat and long cooking time. The flavor was REALLY good. I will try this again. However, I will lower the heat and cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Great side dish. I have not had luck cooking these directly on a baking sheet. To ensure crispness, place fries on a PAM sprayed baking rack, the one used to cool cakes and cookies. Place this rack on a foil lined baking sheet, preferably a sheet with sides. Having the fries raised on the rack allows the heat to circulate around the fries. It works successfully for any type of fries even the frozen version from your local grocer. This technique cannot be new. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I make sweet potatoes too and put them on my large stoneware bar pan, then I don't have to turn them. I put them in a bowl and drizzle with olive oil and lightly season them with salt, gourmet pepper and vegetable seasoning mix. Then I spread them in a single layer on the pan. They are ready in about 30 to 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KB COUNTRYGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
These tasted good. I liked the spiciness of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Tastes good - and dark color good for me - white starch is no good for diabetics. Problem: How do you peel these varmints? Or do you leave the skin on. I used a potato peeler. Wont do that again. Please tell me how to peel without all the agony! Parboil?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Walter VanWinckel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 394) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States