Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I could not get these crispy enough to my liking without burning them. I tried this twice (with Red Robin french fry seasoning which was delicious), but both times the fries burned. 1 hour at 400 or 425 is way too long. If I try this again, it will be at 350 for maybe 40 minutes max.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
With adjustments, 5 stars. Not the prettiest fries, but so good-- I love them to taste like sweet potatoes (not seasoning) and they are wonderful. I just don't like the process of cutting the sweet potatoes into fries. I did try making these with the seasoning, and that deserved 1 star, definitely recommend leaving that out. You also don't need a lot of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
Burnt Burnt Burnt. I really should have gone with my instinct on this one. It seemed like such high heat and long cooking time. The flavor was REALLY good. I will try this again. However, I will lower the heat and cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Great side dish. I have not had luck cooking these directly on a baking sheet. To ensure crispness, place fries on a PAM sprayed baking rack, the one used to cool cakes and cookies. Place this rack on a foil lined baking sheet, preferably a sheet with sides. Having the fries raised on the rack allows the heat to circulate around the fries. It works successfully for any type of fries even the frozen version from your local grocer. This technique cannot be new. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I make sweet potatoes too and put them on my large stoneware bar pan, then I don't have to turn them. I put them in a bowl and drizzle with olive oil and lightly season them with salt, gourmet pepper and vegetable seasoning mix. Then I spread them in a single layer on the pan. They are ready in about 30 to 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KB COUNTRYGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
These tasted good. I liked the spiciness of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Tastes good - and dark color good for me - white starch is no good for diabetics. Problem: How do you peel these varmints? Or do you leave the skin on. I used a potato peeler. Wont do that again. Please tell me how to peel without all the agony! Parboil?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by InventorNC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
These fries got scorched in my oven on both sides after only 25 minutes! I'm thinking it was probably my oven that's at fault. Still, I would not waste the energy to make these again. :( Maybe I'll try again and re-review if we get a new oven. Thanks for sharing the recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KissMorticia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Prescott Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Preheating the cooking sheet helps crisp them up. Lining the slices up not touching also helps cook them evenly and keeps them from steaming and being soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Baconton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I omitted the taco seasoning and added pepper, they were great! I sliced the potatoes real thin to cut down on cooking time too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 391) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States