Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I don't understand why these fries don't have a five star rating--they're delicious, AND healthy! My mother and I made these for Thanksgiving dinner (we're Canadian--that's October for us) and loved them. Hint: if you don't like spicy foods, leave out the cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
These were tasty but it seemed like the taco seasoning overpowered the sweetness of the potato but I did enjoy the spice from the cayenne.I will make this again but instead of taco seasoning,just cayenne,paprika,chilli powder and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
these did not turn out good at all... they burned very fast, after 10 minutes. Parts were charred, parts were soggy.. I don't know where I went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
These were nice for a 1st try! Combined ingredients in a large mixing bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norcross, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
These were WAY too spicy! I followed the recipe to a T, but these burned and had little flavor. I had to add sea salt to give them some flavor. If I do make these again, I will cut down on the taco seasoning and the cayenne, and add garlic pawder, sea salt and cracked pepper. I think the temp and cook time was not right, because these burned
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurse kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
I had already mixed in the Mexican spices (taco seasoning less the salt) by the time I read all the reviews that said that was a bad idea but once we tried them out, we thought it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha Kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I took other's advice and skipped the taco seasoning. I seasoned with olive oil and sea salt and then cooked 425 for 20 min and 400 for 30 mins and they were awesome! A few burned but that's ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Still searching for a sweet potato fry recipe that is crispy on the outside. Not sure if this is possible, but this isn't the recipe. Since I was just making this for the two of us, I eyeballed the seasonings according to the amount of fries I was making. Tasty, tender on the inside, but definitely not crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dixie'sMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I like others used a different seasoning, also used olive oil, tasted good but one side of the potatoes burned the other side didn't brown enough, I used parchment paper so they didn't stick but they were not crispy. Will try this again but at a lower temp. or not so long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
I followed others suggestions and tried to cook these on 400 for one hour. Some were black and others were mushy. Not what I hoped for. I will have to look for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 395) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States