Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
The fries had a kick to them! I would suggest adding salt to the spice mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loveinit
Photo by CarolynT
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Just ok. Sweet potatoes just don't crisp up when you bake them instead of frying them for fries. They are kind of limp and chewy. Not bad, but probably wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
These are good, but it is difficult to cook them without burning them or having them be limp. I recommend slicing the fries very thinly and turning them frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
I have tried these a couple of times. I followed other suggestions and lowered the temp. They either turn out soggy and not burnt or burnt and crispy. I cannot find a happy medium. They taste good, but I cannot get a texture I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
I accidently used fajita seasoning instead of taco, but it was good! I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
I made these using the suggestions of others... I only used 3 potatoes (which was more than enough for my boyfriend & I - with plenty of leftovers). I drizzled them with olive oil, sprinkled them with kosher salt, ground black pepper, and brown sugar. Put them on baking sheets with greased foil, baked them at 400 for 20 mins, turned them over, and baked at 425 for 15 more minutes. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
also awesome with olive oil, salt, pepper & a little chipotle chili seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by red_river_princess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Great idea...I wanted to make Sweet Potato Fries like the ones in some restaurants and I found this recipe. First batch came out limp and gooey. Try using peanut oil (although expensive - has many uses). Use a paper towel and soak it a bit in the peanut oil and rub on cookie sheet. Don't do the bag thing or else they turn out gooey. Add crushed sea salt and they are very tasty. Tablespoon of melted butter on the pan before adding the fries also enhances flavor. Do not refrigerate the sweet potatoes before cooking...can ruin flavor. Also Sweet potatoes are hard to cut no matter how sharp your knife is...try microwaving for 30 seconds or less to soften up for the cut. Excellent low cal nutritious side dish (even with the butter and peanut oil)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefLongobardi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
Have made this several times now. They never really come out crispy but they're still pretty good. Great healthy alternative to regular fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moonchyldcrab82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
These are just fantastic. My husband & I ate till we were so full! Addictive & good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Bayramian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 392) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States