Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
also awesome with olive oil, salt, pepper & a little chipotle chili seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by red_river_princess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Great idea...I wanted to make Sweet Potato Fries like the ones in some restaurants and I found this recipe. First batch came out limp and gooey. Try using peanut oil (although expensive - has many uses). Use a paper towel and soak it a bit in the peanut oil and rub on cookie sheet. Don't do the bag thing or else they turn out gooey. Add crushed sea salt and they are very tasty. Tablespoon of melted butter on the pan before adding the fries also enhances flavor. Do not refrigerate the sweet potatoes before cooking...can ruin flavor. Also Sweet potatoes are hard to cut no matter how sharp your knife is...try microwaving for 30 seconds or less to soften up for the cut. Excellent low cal nutritious side dish (even with the butter and peanut oil)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefLongobardi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
Have made this several times now. They never really come out crispy but they're still pretty good. Great healthy alternative to regular fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moonchyldcrab82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
These are just fantastic. My husband & I ate till we were so full! Addictive & good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
A great and easy recipe!! I followed the directions, but cooked them only about 40 minutes, turning them over 1/2 way through. We like spicy foods, so the taco seasoning and cayenne pepper was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Covina, California, USA
Living In: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I followed the advice from mommyfromseattle, and these turned out great! I omitted the taco seasoning and cayenne pepper so the kids would like them, and they were delicious. I drizzled olive oil over the potatoes and sprinkled salt over them and tossed to coat. I then baked them in the oven for 20 minutes at 400 degrees, and then 425 degrees for the last 10 minutes. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
I did what others said to and used a cooling rack on top of the baking sheet and they cooked well without needing to turn them. I also used Seasoned Salt instead of taco seasoning and loved the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
I made these exactly like the recipe and even my husband, who will eat anything, thought they were terrible. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
No, they are soggy and baking forever won't fix the problem. Really not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I really, really wanted to love this recipe. However, after baking the fries as directed, they were burned and inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 386) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Baked Sweet Potatoes

See a healthier take on classic baked potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States