Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
LOL...these reviews are freaking hilarious, how do you completely change the recipe and still give it 5 stars? its a completely new recipe... So anyways keepin with the trend here i figured i minus well add my 2 cents. ok So i made sweet potatoe fries, not this recipe at all. Cut the fries, added them to ziplock with olive oil , season salt, pepper, and garlic power, shaked, then baked. They were great. not this recipe but i will give it 4 stars for having me want to try to make sweet potato fries in the first place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYTRUTH20

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Really good. Will definitely be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arlene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I made these with a mixture of seasoning salt and a few dashes of cayenne. Lower temp. oven reduces the chance of burning, especially if your fries are on the thinner side. Hubby is now a sweet potato fan! Can't make enough batches for the family. I'm so glad I gave this a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
I am so in love with these! I have a hard time getting them really crispy like regular fries. Maybe I will try broiling them a little next time. You can add as much or as little seasoning you want. Heck, change it up once in a while too! GOOD and Good for you!! don't forget to leave the skins on, more fiber that way. Winner! Thanks and will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
It was alright, you will really have to look in the reviews to find a way to make them more crispy because they turned out very soggy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
These are really tasty. After reading the reviews I cooked them for 30 minutes at 400 and then to crisp them up I broiled for about 2 minutes. The broiling really helped, but they will burn quickly if you don't keep an eye on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I used actual sweet potatoes which are not orange(those are yams). I sprayed a stoneware cookie sheet with olive oil spray & sprinkled with taco seasoning. Pre-cooked the potatoes in the microwave for 5 min and the sliced uniformly. Laid out in a single layer on the sheet and sprayed with the olive oil and sprinkled them lightly with the seasoning. Baked at 400 for 25 min, then flipped and baked for another 20 min. They were slightly crunchy and pretty good. Next time I will broil them for a couple minutes for extra crispness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Cutting up sweet potatoes is a pain in the neck, but so worth it! I even just made these with the oil and then put kosher salt on them for the last 5 minutes of cooking. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
I think I must have done something wrong. After reading all the reviews, I adjusted the spices to our taste (used garlic powder, chili powder and seasoning salt) and had high hopes. But no matter how long I left those things in the oven, they were not crispy at all. They came out a floppy mess, and I figured maybe my oven doesn't cook hot enough. I will try again with a hotter temperature because the flavor was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Well maybe I did something wrong but I really didn't like how these came out. The spices tasted nice (I did chili powder, garlic powder, a tiny bit of cinnamon, and salt) but they came out chewy. The insides were nice and soft but the outsides and especially the skins were tough and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lysandramarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

Displaying results 151-160 (of 386) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Baked Sweet Potatoes

See a healthier take on classic baked potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States