Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Tastes good - and dark color good for me - white starch is no good for diabetics. Problem: How do you peel these varmints? Or do you leave the skin on. I used a potato peeler. Wont do that again. Please tell me how to peel without all the agony! Parboil?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Walter VanWinckel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
These fries got scorched in my oven on both sides after only 25 minutes! I'm thinking it was probably my oven that's at fault. Still, I would not waste the energy to make these again. :( Maybe I'll try again and re-review if we get a new oven. Thanks for sharing the recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KissMorticia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Prescott Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Preheating the cooking sheet helps crisp them up. Lining the slices up not touching also helps cook them evenly and keeps them from steaming and being soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Baconton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I omitted the taco seasoning and added pepper, they were great! I sliced the potatoes real thin to cut down on cooking time too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Great flavor, I couldn't get them crispy, but will try again. Wonderful dipped in ranch dressing! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Unless you are cutting really thick fries, the oven temp and cook time are too much. I put these in at 375 for 15 minutes, turned and baked 15 minutes more which was perfect. Other than that, I followed the recipe and they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I skipped the taco seasoning as suggested by another reviewer and just used olive oil, salt and a light sprinkling of cayenne pepper. Simple, healthy and well worth the effort, I'll be making these often, especially since even my picky two year old (who won't eat mashed sweet potatoes) liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Very good! I've tried other sweet potato fry recipes before...this is one of the best. Next time I will use my own spices rather than the taco seasoning. I did add some fine bread crumbs to coat the potatoes. That seems to soak up some of the moisture that makes them limp. They cooked in less time than the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Good, but very easy to burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
This was great. I substituted the taco seasoning for chipolte chili pepper, cumin pepper like the previous rater, and salt and pepper- fantastic! The rest of the recipe I followed as it said and it was great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 395) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States