Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Didn't read most of the reviews till after I was done cooking them. Will try again with a lower heat. Other then burning on the bottom and watching them closely after that, they were awesome. Will try again at a lower heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Alamitos, California, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
The 425 oven setting was too high -- 375 is hot enough, especially if your fries are on the thin side. Used paprika, garlic powder, cinnamon, s & p to flavor. Served with a nutmeg dip. GREAT!~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Still tasted like sweet potatoes, and I'm not much of a fan... they came out soggy rather than crispy, and some of them burnt. I guess they'd be alright if you were a big fan of sweet potatoes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
top of baking 30 mins then bottom of roasting approx. 30 mins. Watch so they don't burn. Shake in bag like recipe says - I sprayed tatos first with spray oil before placing in bag and shaking. I used powdered garlic 7/4/10. Need to use something spicier. Try Old Bay or Cajun Shake or Foreplay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Very tasty. I loved the spiciness they had to them. The cook time/temp was way too long for my oven. I burned them after only 15 minutes on my first try. Turn the heat waaay down and let them slowly cook for better, crispier fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by olpgirl2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
these turned out mushy, and not good. will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Don't know WHY I can't get these to come out crispy - but my 6yo and her friend have dubbed them, "The best thing EVER!" :) I went simple with EVOO and kosher salt. Added cinnamon/sugar to half of the batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B.Mace

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
My first attempt making a fry that I love! I had one huge sweet potato and I used veg oil, kosher salt, and pepper in place of the other spices. My fries really stuck to the greased foil, so I might use extra oil/spray to avoid the sticking problem in the future... But they were sooo tasty! Next time, I'll also drop the oven temperature a bit. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
I don't like sweet potatoes but I thought I might try these to see if I just didn't have a great recipe for them. I think that they probably tasted ok, but I couldn't get past the texture. I had trouble getting them to crisp like other reviewers, and they were very mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I loved these sweet potato fries, but as others have said you need to lower the temp to 400 or they will burn. I only cooked them for 20 minutes on each side. I made homemade taco seasoning and it tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Harroll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 392) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States