Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
First of all, an IMPORTANT WORD OF WARNING: Do not combine the sweet potatoes with the seasoning mix earlier in the day!!!! The first time I made this recipe I did this, and the potatoes leached moisture and ended up being a soggy, disgusting, completely inedible disaster. I baked them, hoping they'd "dry out" but it didn't work... I had to sacrifice the entire batch. :-( My second attempt at making these was much more successful! The only thing I changed from the original recipe was to substitute the Canola for Olive Oil and reduce the cooking time to 40 minutes in total. They were crispy, tasty, and a reasonably healthy alternative to regular fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Came out soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Overall the method is very good but I only used kosher salt and pepper as seasoning. A warning to those who have electric ovens, turn it waaaaay down. Even 400 was too high for my oven, my first batch burnt for the most part. My next batch I cooked at 350 for 30 minutes and then went from there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
First off, forget the nasty PAM spray and use PARCHMENT PAPER. You get a perfectly browned French fry. I cut my fries, rinsed them, pat dry. Place in a bowl. Add about three tablespoons of olive oil; Toss well and spread out potatoes on your parchment lined cookie tray. I sprinkled them with sea salt, pepper, paprika, and a dash of cayenne! Bake at 425 for 15 min, then stir, bake an additional 10-15 and enjoy! (keep an eye on them the last 10 minutes). I used one VERY large sweet potato for the two of us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodygirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
It was a good method of cooking, but the spices were way off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Wow! Spicy with just a hint of sweet! I loved them, but hubby thought they were just a tad too hot for his likes. Next time, if I'm feeling nice, I'll cut back on the cayenne for him; but I liked them just as is! Went great with our grilled brats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Cooking time/temp is way off. It does NOT take 30 minutes on each side. Less than 10 minutes into baking these they were almost black on the first side. Turn frequently, bake at 400 and 7 minutes each side. I didn't even preheat the oven fully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakeJoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
These were very tasty, but very easy to burn. Watch them closely and I also recommend a lower temperature, 350. I also used coconut oil instead of olive oil, much tastier and healthier. I seasoned them with kosher salt and black pepper. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Tastes so good but so soggy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
The coating burned long before the potatoes were cooked. Perhaps lower temperature for longer would have worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 386) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Baked Sweet Potatoes

See a healthier take on classic baked potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States