Spicy Baked Feta (Feta Psiti) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I love baked feta, and was really looking forward to trying this recipe out, and I was definitely not disappointed. The balance of salt from the cheese, spice from the chilies, and the herbal aroma of the oregano hit the spot. But... I gave it three stars because although I enjoyed it, the flavour was a bit plain. I added some crushed garlic, and a bit of rosemary, and felt the recipe was better rounded for the changes. But since I am judging on the recipe as it, it was just a bit of a single note, so only three stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wsf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Riverdale, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This recipe is simple, yet AMAZING. I don't know what that other guy was talking about, there are no additional flavors needed. Maybe he had some cheap/bad feta or an unrefined palette. Anyway, I just can't say enough about how wonderful this recipe is. When I ate it with my husband and our three year old child, we all could not stop discussing how wonderful it was with our friends for the next week. Here's a little tip: follow the recipe exactly, add nothing. It is PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
This is a traditional recipe that you'll find in tavernas and mezedopoleio (meze restaurants) all over Greece. The simple flavors and preparation should be savored! I wouldn't add anything else to this recipe, as the contrast between salty/sour and spicy, as well as the creamy texture of the baked feta, are quite enough to make a great little dish! Note that feta doesn't 'melt' the way most cheeses do, so you will fine that the slice of feta will hold its shape. It won't be spreadable either. But it should be soft and bubbly throughout. You'll want to serve right away, because the feta will harden as it cools. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Moutsopoulos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
We've made this delicious feta recipe numerous times and more recently on the BBQ (on aluminum foil with the sides crimped up to catch drips). We discovered that we needed lots of chili pepper flakes when using the "stale" stuff from the Bulk Barn. Just the other day with friends, I crushed up some dried chilis I stored in a jar from last year's garden, and boy oh boy, what an amazing flavour! We BBQ'd 2 large 1/4 inch slabs and ate them with garlic buttered toasted pitas and everyone including kids was ranting and raving over the flavour. So simple and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Excellent idea. I drizzled with garlic infused olive oil and added cherry tomatoes and juice from 1/2 a lemon. Huge hit at my cocktail party last night. Be sure to enjoy when it's hot, as the feta hardens back up as it cools.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
This was so delicious and ridiculaously easy to make. I used less crushed red pepper because some of my family does not like spicy, but it was a wonderful, not burning heat, so it was fine. The only downside is that it is not nearly as good once it cools down, so eat it while it's hot! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
very,very good.. perfect for sharing! But serve as soon as you take it out of the oven..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I was so glad to see this recipe! This was one of my favorite things to order when I lived in Greece. Greeks tend to shy away from spicy food, so this was a real treat. I've never seen it without a red sauce before, which is how I prepared it. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
This is delicious! It's also ridiculously easy, but unique, so it's impressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Delicious, simple, quick and inexpensive = a perfect party appetizer. I served it with plain sliced french bread but will do crackers next time for texture. Cover the cheese LIBERALLY with herbs and red pepper flakes - the feta perfectly balances them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Baked Chicken Wings

Yes, you can get crispy chicken wings from the oven.

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States