Spicy Bagel Bites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
These were fantastic! So easy to make and super quick (and cheap). Great little side dish for a big meal. The only things I'd like to mention would be: one-- I'm not sure why these are called "spicy" bagel bites, because they weren't spicy at ALL (and I have a SUPER SUPER low spice tolerance), and two--mine took more like 10 minutes in the oven, but the cook did say until lightly browned, and my oven is terrible. Plus, that's just a preference thing anyway. Anyway, these were super yummy and I will definitely be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I doubled all the spices EXCEPT the chili powder. To make the spices stick better to the bagels, I threw them in a bowl, drizzled them with EVOO and then sprinkled the spices over the oiled bagel pieces. I then laid them out on a foil lined baking sheet and baked them golden brown. VERY addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Awesome little treat! Plus it's a great way to use up the last of the stale bagels! These are delicious all by themselves, but are even better with your favorite dip. Thanks for the great recipe, sal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Yummy snack. I mixed the seasoning and tossed all in a ziplock bag to coat evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Handful

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ada, Ohio, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Very nice little bagel bites. I like them crispy and I wanted to make sure the seasonings would stick, so I tossed the bites into a bowl, added some olive oil and tossed until they were coated. Then I did the same thing with the seasonings (what can I say--I'm lazy and messy and I hate sprinkling things). It worked perfectly. 5 minutes wasn't crispy enough for me, so I did another 5 for a total of 10 minutes. 10 minutes was almost too long for the smaller and thinner pieces I managed--they were very brown, but very nice and crispy. I used cheese bagels that were about ready to give up the ghost, and they were perfect. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~S~
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
This was a very good snack! I used onion bagels for mine, other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. They were finished in exactly 5 minutes, and I had no problem with them holding the spice topping. They had a great flavor, and I'm sure I will make them again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~S~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
They taste alright but don't stay crispy for long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
I really didn't care for this recipe at all. I sprayed some butter flavored cooking spray on the bagels since it seemed like there should be something there for the seasonings to stick to. When all was said and done, there just wasn't much flavor to them, and most of them ended up getting thrown out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Immokalee, Florida, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
I was really disappointed with these. I had a lot of difficulty slicing the bagels thinly - works a little better if the bagels are slightly frozen, but not much. The spicy cheese topping was pretty tasty, but it really didn't melt down nor stick to the bits of bagel; I would definitely recommend mixing in some butter or maybe even a little mayo. Still, there's no way I'll be making these again. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
You need to make sure to get lots of the seasoning on each piece or it's not very spicy. I omitted the salt and added a touch of cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy PBJ Wings

Watch Chef John make sweet-and-spicy chicken wings with PBJ!

Spicy Pretzels

A zesty marinade takes store-bought pretzels to the next level of snack heaven.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States