Spicy Avocado Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by bd.weld
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
How can something so simple taste so good. Four serrano chiles were just right. They only change I made was using garlic salt to taste in place of regular salt. Next time I will add onion. This will go into my TNT folder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Very good, I had this as a dip with chips first and then added some lime juice and 1/2 extra avocado to make as a dressing for a bean salad. Went over very well with the family and I've no doubt will be a tasty taco topping. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
This. is. so. good. !!! Very spicy too which we love. Very good stuff! Served on Black bean taco salad, and on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This was okay but I really thought we would like it more than we did. It wasn't bad on our tacos when melded with all of the other ingredients but on it's own we didn't care for it. I only used two serranos but wish I'd added all four. My problem isn't that it was too mild though, it's the actual flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
My 9 year old daughter is in love with this dip. Thank goodness our garden produces a never-ending supply of tomatillas! We ramp up the heat with jalapeno peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This was good, but I had to add a little extra to even out the flavor. We added lime and 1 extra avocado because the chiles were so spicy. Also, my hubby thinks we should have added an onion, so maybe next time. Overall, good and I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I make a very similar recipes from Rick Bayless that adds a small white onion to blender also. Delicious everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I changed it up a bit. I went with 3 chile peppers, 1 serrano, and 1 habanero instead of the 4 serranos. I also added about 1/3 cup of sour cream and a tablespoon of lemon juice. It's wonderful, but not for the faint of heart
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Very Good! I made this exactly per the recipe and thought it was good, but a little spicy. I added an extra tomatillo and a little garlic powder, lemon juice and water, and that made it a 5-star for me. Used it on cicken flautas made from here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassandra

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
This was really good. It could use a bit more spice but was just right for my wife and kids
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Grilled Mahi Mahi with Spicy Mango Sauce

See how to make a quick Thai-influenced fish dish on the grill.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States