Spicy Apricot Chicken Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
This was wonderful!! Will definitely make again. The only issue I had was that the sauce was not as thick as I had expected. Perhaps I might use a tiny bit more cornstarch next time. Also, I cut the chicken into smaller pieces. But this was wonderful. Fabulous flavor. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
To the frozen vegetables I added water chestnuts and fresh snow peas. I had to leave out the crushed red peppers because our stomachs can't handle them. However, I do believe it would have been better with them. Leaving them out, I should have increased the other seasonings. I plan to do that the next time. Made according to recipe this would be 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Wonderful recipe! I tweaked the apricot and pineapple amounts based on what I had (more pineapple than apricots) and it was still wicked good. Added some fresh garlic to the ginger, and put some shrimp in there too. As others noticed, the sauce didn't thicken up a whole lot so I added a bit more cornstarch. Still little liquidy, but liked it because the rice absorbed the extra. Definite keeper. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Trumbull, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
This is my recipe, so of course, I love it! Spiciness can be increased by adding more crushed red pepper and the chicken should be cut into about 1-1/2" x 1/2" strips (chunks). You can also use fresh veggies or pork for this recipe. Have fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayHomeCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Delicious sauce and chicken! Instead of frozen veggies, I used fresh bell and sweet peppers, broccoli, zucchini, and tomato and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
This recipe is very good. I used more vegies in mine. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
Great easy recipe! I also added the juice from the pineapple to the sauce mixture and doubled the other ingredients in the sauce mixture to compensate for the extra juice. It turned out well as I didn't want to waste the pineapple juice. I served it over rice. Loved it! Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Wonderful recipe. I've made this a couple of times now and the whole family enjoys the flavour. The only reason this is 4 stars rather than 5 is because the sauce does need to be thickened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
The only reason I can't offer this awesome recipe five stars is because I changed it for necessity's sake. I found this recipe while trying to fix a meal with what was in my pantry and so my ingredients were limited. I used powdered ginger (half the amount) because I had no fresh, I use fresh garlic (almost twice as much) because I had no powder, no pineapple, and no green onion. The biggest risk was that I use apricot preserves instead of caned apricots which added a touch of sweetness. I cooked the veggies separate but I'll mix them in next time. Even my skeptical 18 year old nephew loved it....I'll make this again. It was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Plitt

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fontana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Chicken Stir-Fry

A quick stir-fry that’s slightly sweet, slightly spicy and very veggie friendly.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States