Spicy and Creamy Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
This was really, really good. The only changes I made were instead of the Rotel, I used fresh tomatoes and green peppers, and Frank's Hot Sauce. I also used half and half instead of heavy cream. Absolutely delicious, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jking

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
This soup was a nice change of pace for us. Love all of those fresh veggies! The broth is excellent, and the trio of dill, thyme, and rosemary works wonderfully in this recipe. A few tweaks, I used about 1/2 lb hot italian sausage, browned and removed from the pot to be added back later. I just eyeballed the amount of veggies, and probably ended up doubling most. I sauteed the sliced mushroom with the onion/celery/carrot mix, sauteed in the sausage drippings, and used low sodium chicken broth, about 8 cups total. I also used a bit more heavy cream, and celery salt to season. A nice summer-into-fall soup! Thanks for sharing your recipe with AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
My husband scolded me for having been married to him for the last 7 years and never serving this to him before. He said it was the best soup I have ever made. Thanks for a fantastic recipe! Alterations: I didn't have celery, green beans or mushrooms on hand, but it was still good. I did have 1/2 cup dry lentils, so I threw them in at the same time as the potatoes to add heartiness since I was missing some ingredients. I also added some salt--not sure how much as I did it to taste, but it was quite a bit. The soup was quite spicy, so I added a little milk to the kids' bowls after I served it, which also helped with the temperature for them. Hubby and I ate it and lived it full strength.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I have made this 3 times in 2 weeks and every time everyone has loved it! Delicious and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I gobbled this up like it was my last meal. Followed the cook's notes to make it vegetarian & used 6 cups veggie broth, plus a little more as it cooked down. I sauteed the mushrooms with the veggies, like another reviewer and added a shake or two of salt to my bowl (which I usually need to do if the recipe calls for chicken broth and I use veggie instead.) So delicious and colorful with the perfect amount of heat. Might use the Rotel tomatoes with mild chiles next time for my husband who kept commenting on how spicy it was. I usually don't like spicy food, but this was the right amount for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dakinegrindz
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
We made some changes based on what we had in the house. Didn't have whipping cream or celery but we did have cream of celery. Doubled the amount of kale because we love it and added garbanzo beans for some added protein and iron. Very hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dakinegrindz
Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Added a couple of sliced & browned sausages. Was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaperWest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I live in a household of picky eaters....EVERYONE LOVED IT!! One of the BEST SOUPS i have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I followed the directions almost exactly. I substituted a can of evaporated milk for the heavy cream, and used a tablespoon of Italian seasoning in place of the parsley, thyme, and rosemary. It turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Stewart

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbiana, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAT in the HAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Skagway, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States