Spicy African Yam Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Always a hit, always puréed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
This is a really good soup but I recommend making a few modifications, as it could turn out very bland otherwise. I used vegetable broth versus chicken so maybe that is why. First of all, for a pot of soup this big, you'll need about 3 tsp kosher salt (decrease if using table salt), and add black pepper too. Second, increase the garlic and cumin by about 3 times (3 cloves garlic; 1.5 tsp cumin); increase the salsa to your taste but I used about 1 and 1/4 C and could use more. I had fresh thyme rather than dried, not sure of the conversion of that but I used quite a bit - probably a tablespoon or more fresh thyme. You could even add another tablespoon of the peanut butter if you want a creamier texture and more peanut flavor (but I only used 2 TBSP per recipe). Finally, decrease the simmer time for more texture to your vegetables. I would say 10 minutes and 10 minutes, rather than 15 and 15 per recipe. To do 15 and 15 made the vegetables mush. All in all, the foundation for a great soup is there, the ingredients are good, but definitely needs these tweaks to make it more enjoyable (just my opinion). I will definitely make this again and thank you Colleen for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rachward2614
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
love this recipe... definitely something different and tastes great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
We really enjoyed this soup. I used a can of tomatoes w/ green chilies instead of salsa, added extra peanut butter, and some cayenne pepper/ground ginger for more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
We really enjoyed this! Had to make our own salsa since no jarred in the house (heirloom cherry tomatoes, onions and fresh jalapeno). We added a bit of chili pepper at the end, and then in our individual bowls some of us added Trader Joe's Jalapeno Hot Sauce. This is a nice, flexible soup that you can customize. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by In-a-Pickle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
1/31/14 Good soup! I am not a fan of cumin but i put it in anyway and I was pleasantly surprised. My favorite part of this soup recipe is the LACK OF ADDED SALT! It is not easy to find such well balanced recipes without salt. I had some last evening and put the rest in the freezer. Will trot it out when my husband is back from his trip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuneeSequim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Very unique and good! I didn't have the zucchini on hand so I chopped up around 2 cups of brussel sprouts and cooked those with the onions. Also used just 1 can of the chick peas added one can of black beans instead. I used 1 cup of peanut butter since others recommended adding more, but next time I plan to leave out the peanut butter altogether. I think the combo of spices would be good without the over powering peanut taste. Served this with homemade cornbread, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
The title and ingredients really appealed to me, but the flavor didn't measure up. It needs a lot more spice to be called spicy. Next time, I will triple the cumin. And I'll put the yam in later, as it was too mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
This is delicious and a great alternative to beef or chicken soup! I think it would benefit from more peanut butter--about a 1/2 cup--and around a 1/2 teaspoon of cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
YUM! I was a little skeptical, as I often don't like peanut sauces, however the review were so positive that I gave this recipe a try. I am so glad that I did, and my husband and I both agree that this recipe is going to a staple be in our weekly soup rotation. My husband actually said that this may be his favorite soup I have ever made! I followed the directions, except I cut my veggies in large chunks, and I didn't need to simmer as long as stated for my potatoes and zucchini to be fully cooked--probably 20 minutes total of simmering. Thanks for a healthy, delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Colchester, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States