Spiced Yogurt Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
I loved the whole yogurt idea, but was disappointed. It was a spice cake and not a POUND cake. My hubbie ate it to be nice. My search for a healthier pound cake continues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Geppetto DeVitis

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Moist and delicious. I would rate this 5 stars, were it not for the fact that the recipe's servings seem off...I scaled the recipe to 2/3 (16 servings, using 2 eggs, etc.), and poured the batter into 2 loaf pans. However, they turned out rather small and would've been better in one pan. So I cut the cake into cubes and served them in dessert glasses with loosely whipped cream, toasted chopped walnuts, and a pinch of pumpkin pie spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
This was my first attempt at a pound cake and I absolutely loved how it turned out. It made the house smell wonderful and I had several people ask me for the recipe. I did reduce the sugar and increase the spices as suggested by others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Just made this cake and am eating it warm. I did sift some powdered sugar over the top when I took it out of the oven. It's moist and just the right amount of spices. I did reduce the sugar by 1/4 cup. Would make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catlin
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Really good recipe. I had some plain yogurt to use up and this recipe worked out great. I didn't have any cloves so I left them out. Tasted great and will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This cake was exceptional. It was really moist and delicious. I even had two pieces in one sitting! Can't remember the last time I did that. I topped it with walnuts, whipped cream, and a drizzle of caramel sauce. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heatherly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This cake is so wonderful. I made it for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it. And it got better the day after. (Made an especially yummy breakfast!) My only complaint is that the center of the cake was much denser than the rest of the cake, and looked darker. But it was cooked through and it still tasted good. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This is my mom, Georgie's recipe. I finally made this recipe on my own at college. It turned out perfect, moist, and delicious. Thanks Mom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodByLauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berkeley Heights, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Very yummy! It stuck to my bunt pan which was a bummer, but it still tasted good, thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
Just made this and it's good! I had no allspice or ground clove so I made it without those spices. It came out moist and tasty! It is almost to sweet for my taste thats why I only gave it 4 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States