Spiced Yogurt Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
My yogurt was about to expire so I thought I'd give this cake a try. I made a few changes: I didn't have butter but I had some left over applesauce... so instead of 1c butter I used 1/2c apple sauce and 1/2c oil. I accidentally doubled the baking soda. And I did not have allspice. I left the other spice amounts the same. I didn't have the right size pan so I baked it in two round cake pans (same temperature/same time). It turned out wonderfully! I've marked this as a favourite and I'll definitely be baking it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Made this cake today. Followed the recipe exactly. Very moist and great tasting. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Used up the last of my plain yogurt! Followed the tips from baricat, minus the mace. Had a test piece and was delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
A wonderful recipe, made this cake twice this holiday season...very good, does not need icing at all..just a dusting of powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
My whole family loved this, even my pickiest niece! I made as is, except for adding a little more of the dry spices to give it a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I turned this into an apple cake which really was wonderful. I had a problem with the cooking time, the cake had to be cooked much longer as it was still raw in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This is so good that I passed the recipe on to our local coffeeshop. The customers love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sitka, Alaska, USA
Living In: Silverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This was a very tasty pound cake. I left it plain and added almond extract in addition to the vanilla. I also baked it in a 15" round pan. I had to cook it an additional 20 minutes on lower heat, but it turned out great. Very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I definitely will not make this again. It was very funny tasting. It must have been the yogurt, because I've made many spice cakes before usually with apples, but this one was not edible to me nor my husband. Although the texture was fine for a pound cake, I just didn't care for the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K Dub

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
This was fabulous pound cake. I had some extra yogurt I wanted to use and I'm so glad I found this recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quincy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States