Spiced Yogurt Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
My 11 year old son made thiscake all by himself. It cameout really good, light and fluffy and flavourful. All the kids at the gathering wanted seconds!! He baked it in a tube pan for about 1 hour. Perfect! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Made this for my mom's birthday cake at her request- she likes spice cake. This was a real hit with the family. I thought it needed vanilla ice cream to go with, as it was drier than I prefer (not that it wasn't moist at all, I'm admittedly finicky as far as cake goes). This cake smelled lovely baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
i found this cake very dry, especially eating it teh day after cooking. not a cake that i will rush to re-make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Embrun, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
delicious. substituted cinnamon applesauce for butter and light apple cinnamon yogurt for the plain. cooled and topped with powdered sugar. would also be excellent with a powdered sugar glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
dense and moist with a light crispy crust! seems to be a pretty forgiving recipe too as i did not use exact measurements. i subbed in more yogurt instead of all the butter as directed below. i also decreased the sugar. and after mixing everything, the batter seemed a bit too dry so i added an extra egg. i used a bundt pan and the cooking time was def way longer than 35 minutes -- closer to 50 as others have posted. even with all these adjustments and my rather slapdash method, it turned out wonderfully. will def make again, but will prob cut out more sugar and use a cream cheese glaze. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
It is not too often that I give a recipe such a low rating. I followed this recipe to the T and found it to have such a strange texture and a strange taste. My husband thought that it tasted like one of those cakes that you pour milk over. There was one overwhelming spice flavor in this cake, not too sure but I think it was the cloves since they tend to be a strong spice. Will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joyful1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ames, Iowa, USA
Living In: Zumbrota, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Followed directions exactly. The cake has a wonderful flavor! The only drawback is that it is not really pretty- the cake falls just a bit (made in a 9 X 13 dish). But it is not ugly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ML

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
SO delicious! I follwed previous reviewer by adding more yogurt, less butter. Added heaping amounts of spices and it is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HealthFoodPlease
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Followed the recipe verbatim except: Substituted half of the butter with yogurt as per the directions on another website: "When a recipe calls for butter, replace half the butter with half as much yogurt. For instance, instead of 1 cup butter, use 1/2 cup butter and 1/4 cup yogurt." So I used 1/2c butter and 1/4 c extra yogurt, it turned out wonderfully! Dense and moist. Used 2TB pumpkin seasoning because it was on hand, but it could've used 3 or even 4 if you like strong flavoring. Also used 2 or 3 TB lemon extract and squeezed 1/2 one fresh lemon in to the wet ingredients. I've heard that corn starch (2TB per egg, maybe 4TB dissolved in one egg) or banana (1 small or medium banana) can substitute for eggs, next time I made this I'd probably try that and cut some calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HealthFoodPlease
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States