Spiced Yogurt Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
A very nice moist cake. I used 1-1/2 c. white sugar and 1/2 c. splenda. Also used 1/2 c. oil and 1/2 c. applesauce. I baked it in a bundt pan for 45 min. at 350. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Have made this twice now. The recipe, as written, is fairly decent. We all thought it was a bit too bland, heavy, and very sweet. The second time, it was great. Instead of butter, I used 1/2 cup oil and 1/4 cup yogurt. Used only 1 cup of white sugar and 1/2 cup of brown sugar. I also increased all of the spices a tad. Instead of buttering and flouring the pans (I used 2 loaf pans), I buttered and then sprinkled with cinnamon sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
VERY good and easy cake to make! I cut down the butter to 13 TBLS, added in 2 extra TBLS of yogurt, and used half brown sugar. And due to my laziness I also didn't use a hand mixer, but just stirred everything together really well and baked it in a bundt pan for 55 minutes. A very yummy cake that isn't too dense and very moist, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roweena

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Used greek yogurt to boost the protein, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Lovely easy cake to bake, cooking time in bunt pan is a lot, lot longer but worth the wait
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Very easy to make. Does need lots more time if you bake in a bundt pan rather than the recommended 9 x 13. A teensy bit on the dry side but got rave reviews from the ladies in my sorority.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liverpool, Merseyside, England, U.K.
Living In: Terrace, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I didn't have any butter so I used 1 cup oil and because some reviewers had said it was a bit dry I added 1/4 cup apple sauce. Baked for 45 mins and it was perfect. Just the right amount of spice and nice and moist. Thanks, I will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Yorkshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Senija, Communidad Valenciana, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Fantastic recipe, better than bought spice cake mix and easy as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
My 11 year old son made thiscake all by himself. It cameout really good, light and fluffy and flavourful. All the kids at the gathering wanted seconds!! He baked it in a tube pan for about 1 hour. Perfect! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Made this for my mom's birthday cake at her request- she likes spice cake. This was a real hit with the family. I thought it needed vanilla ice cream to go with, as it was drier than I prefer (not that it wasn't moist at all, I'm admittedly finicky as far as cake goes). This cake smelled lovely baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States