Spiced Up Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
This wasn't bad. I used fresh potatoes since I don't use canned potatoes. I used fresh garlic instead of the salt. I decreased the paprika by a third but it was still way too much, next time I will decrease it by two-thirds. Since I used fresh potatoes, I simmered them in water for a few minutes and then plunged them in cold water before beginning the saute because I feared they would be a little hard. Turned out great other than the excess paprika, which is why I gave it 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
This would be great if the paprika was reduced. That's all you could taste and it made it a little bitter. Next time I would reduce the paprika to 1 tbs and add some salt. Nice way to use canned potatoes though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winterville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
Needed a quick side dish. This was great for that, but I'm not sure I'm a fan of canned potatoes. I added a small tin of canned mushrooms which added to the good flavor. Will try again using fresh potatoes as some suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
5 Star all the way!! Followed recipe using garlic powder instead of garlic salt as family likes that better. Delicious, easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2005
I used canned potatoes (which I've never had) and they were good, not gross at all. These were really tasty and I'll make again. I didn't use the recommended measured amounts of spice, but just shook it on to my liking. They cooked real fast too. I also went a bit light on the butter as well. I only made (1) 15 oz can too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2004
Too much paprika for my taste, but my friend's father loved it! Use a little less spices and it won't be so overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2004
Very good! I used fresh potatoes as others suggested and only 1/2 tsp garlic salt and 1 tsp of italian seasoning and paprika....turned out very well....will definitely make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
I used 6 large potatoes, sliced (I'll pass on the canned version) and only used 1 TBLS of the Italian & Paprika seasoning. About halfway through, I had to add another 2 TBLS of butter because most of it had cooked away and by the end I thought "my god! I can't serve these!" because they didn't look that appealing. The spices made them look very brown and almost burnt. HOWEVER, my patient roommate (who helped cook these) convinced me to give them a try. I was surprised that they tasted good! We really liked these. It did take a little longer to cook because I used fresh potatoes but I would make these again, but not for a formal affair. Thanks Jodi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
My boyfriend loved this with the sesame beef recipe on this site. The only thing I did different was add a tsp of pesto seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2002
I made a few changes to this recipe and ended up really liking it. I used fresh potatoes instead of canned and added some fresh garlic gloves. I loved the flavor. I used cooking spray in the pan as well as some butter to make sure the potatoes were coated with all the spices. It took longer to cook than the recipe said though...more like 25 minutes. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States