Spiced-Up Grilled Tater Wedges Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I used unpeeled red potatoes cut into bite sized pieces. I omitted the cumin and added sage. Next time I will add just a bit of salt. I was making this for 20 people, so I cooked them two ways to save time. Sprayed cookie sheets with olive oil pam, added a single layer of potatoes and sprayed those with pam and sprinkled the seasonings on top. Baked in the oven at 400 for about an hour. They were a little dry so I put them in a covered casserole dish with about a Tbsp of water and microwaved on high for 2 minutes. The water steamed the already cooked potatoes and made them moist. The second way I cooked the potatoes was to just spray a casserole dish with olive oil pam, spray the potatoes [while on a cookie sheet] and season and add to the casserole dish. I cooked them in the microwave for about 20 minutes on high, stirring halfway through. Put the potatoes in a foil pan on the grill to keep hot while burgers were cooking. Kids and adults loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Excellent! I love the mix of spices. I made two batches of these. One with regular paprika and added a little grated parmesan cheese (1/4 to 1/2 tsp - I really didn't measure). The other I used smoked paprika and added 1/8 tsp. of chili powder. Both were fabulous! I partially microwaved the potatoes vs. boiling which is much easier and a lot faster. I used Olive Oil Pam to make the seasoning stick. When I cut the potatoes into wedges I very lightly scored them. They came out crispy on the outside and tender on the inside, perfectly seasoned and great with a side of sour cream! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
I added some extra spices but followed the recipe for cooking. They were great! We ate them for dinner and breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Coker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
We thought these were very good. I nuked mine,[I don't think that matters]because of the heat. I used oil with the spices and brushed these on the wedges, in my grill pan. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I baked these instead of grilled them, so I put the potato wedges into a gallon bag, added 1 T oil and the seasonings. When the potatoes were coated, I baked them on parchment paper for 30 minutes at 400. My family loves these! We served them with yogurt instead of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Love potatoes done like this! Excellent flavor. For those who use a microwave, you really should try boiling instead - boiling removes a thin layer of starch on the outside of the potato, which promotes browning and crisping of the surface of the potato when grilling or roasting. You won't get this with a microwave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
I used french fry size potatoes and they came out great; tender inside and crunchy of the outside. Even my husband, the french fry eater, liked them. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Excellent! Dump the spices into two TBSP of olive oil, toss the potato in it, tip the bowl to pour the excess oil onto the sheet, smear it around and drop the potatoes--abracadabra: oiled cookie sheet and potatoes ready to go! Mix the sour cream with Heinz 57 and crushed pineapple for a different dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peter J Martin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda at Bit of Flavor
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
I made a batch of these last night, and must admit that I doubled the amount of spices used. I planned to use twice the number of potatoes, but decided instead to use the doubled mix on just the four. I'm glad I did, as the flavor was just right! I also mixed up some Buffalo Ranch salad dressing with some plain sour cream to make a tasty dip that went well with the spice of the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda at Bit of Flavor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I liked the cooking method here as it ensured the wedges were beautifully crisp/chewy on the outside while the insides were very tender. I would probably add some salt other than just the celery salt to the seasoning blend next time and maybe finish them with a sprinkle of cheese as they come off the grill. The spice blend was nice enough but was missing something for me. The kids liked them though, and the (tastebud wimpy) hubs did too. I guess it's all a matter of personal taste. Thanks for the overall great recipe! Would definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Fruit Skewers

Skewered strawberries, mangoes, papayas, and pineapples all excel on the grill.

Crusty Herb Potato Wedges

See how to make perfect baked potato wedges with a crispy crust.

How to Make Grilled Eggplant Salad

Enjoy exotic northern African flavors in this grilled eggplant and pepper salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States