Spiced-Up Grilled Tater Wedges Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Excellent! I love the mix of spices. I made two batches of these. One with regular paprika and added a little grated parmesan cheese (1/4 to 1/2 tsp - I really didn't measure). The other I used smoked paprika and added 1/8 tsp. of chili powder. Both were fabulous! I partially microwaved the potatoes vs. boiling which is much easier and a lot faster. I used Olive Oil Pam to make the seasoning stick. When I cut the potatoes into wedges I very lightly scored them. They came out crispy on the outside and tender on the inside, perfectly seasoned and great with a side of sour cream! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
I used two large baking potatoes and doubled the amounts of spices. Instead of vegetable cooking spray, I used EVOO. I liked the idea of this recipe, I loved the spice mix but the cooking method just wasn't a win for me. I think next time, I'll just cut the potatoes into wedges, coat the wedges with oil and toss with the spices, then bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
I was looking for a way to cook potatoes on the grill that did not involve a foil packet and this fit the bill. My husband and I were pleased with this recipe and the mix of spices. I did not boil to potatoes first and instead microwaved them (I wanted to keep the kitchen cool). They turned out perfect. We ate ours with ranch dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Martin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda at Bit of Flavor
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
I made a batch of these last night, and must admit that I doubled the amount of spices used. I planned to use twice the number of potatoes, but decided instead to use the doubled mix on just the four. I'm glad I did, as the flavor was just right! I also mixed up some Buffalo Ranch salad dressing with some plain sour cream to make a tasty dip that went well with the spice of the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda at Bit of Flavor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
We thought these were very good. I nuked mine,[I don't think that matters]because of the heat. I used oil with the spices and brushed these on the wedges, in my grill pan. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
I used red potatoes, added a little salt and doubled the spices for 6 med red potatoes. I couldn't find my cayenne so I used chipotle and smoked paprika. I still sprinkled mine with more salt after they were cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverton, Utah, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I used a different method for cooking the potatoes... I peel, slice and lightly coat in EVOO then essentially cook in the microwave for 6 minutes, removing and shaking the loosely covered container the fries are in. Once done with the microwave, toss with seasonings and bake for about 30-45 minutes, once they get crispy. This way they are tender on the inside but crisp on the inside. You can also add some cornstarch to the mix (roughly 1 tablespoon) to ensure crispiness. I doubled the seasonings for roughly 8 really small potatoes. I used a hot chili powder instead of cayenne, celery seed instead of the celery salt and added a half teaspoon of salt. It could have used a wee bit more spice and salt, but it was mild enough for my toddler to enjoy too. We didn't serve it with sour cream... Ketchup and mayo is the way we flow. Served this as a side to "Bayou Samburgers" from AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I used unpeeled red potatoes cut into bite sized pieces. I omitted the cumin and added sage. Next time I will add just a bit of salt. I was making this for 20 people, so I cooked them two ways to save time. Sprayed cookie sheets with olive oil pam, added a single layer of potatoes and sprayed those with pam and sprinkled the seasonings on top. Baked in the oven at 400 for about an hour. They were a little dry so I put them in a covered casserole dish with about a Tbsp of water and microwaved on high for 2 minutes. The water steamed the already cooked potatoes and made them moist. The second way I cooked the potatoes was to just spray a casserole dish with olive oil pam, spray the potatoes [while on a cookie sheet] and season and add to the casserole dish. I cooked them in the microwave for about 20 minutes on high, stirring halfway through. Put the potatoes in a foil pan on the grill to keep hot while burgers were cooking. Kids and adults loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I baked these instead of grilled them, so I put the potato wedges into a gallon bag, added 1 T oil and the seasonings. When the potatoes were coated, I baked them on parchment paper for 30 minutes at 400. My family loves these! We served them with yogurt instead of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I used 5 large red potatoes and 1 sweet potato instead of baking potatoes. Doubled the seasonings. Turned out great! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Fruit Skewers

Skewered strawberries, mangoes, papayas, and pineapples all excel on the grill.

Crusty Herb Potato Wedges

See how to make perfect baked potato wedges with a crispy crust.

How to Make Grilled Eggplant Salad

Enjoy exotic northern African flavors in this grilled eggplant and pepper salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States