Spiced-Up Grilled Tater Wedges Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
I was looking for a way to cook potatoes on the grill that did not involve a foil packet and this fit the bill. My husband and I were pleased with this recipe and the mix of spices. I did not boil to potatoes first and instead microwaved them (I wanted to keep the kitchen cool). They turned out perfect. We ate ours with ranch dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Martin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
These were pretty good. I thought the prep process was pretty lengthy and the outcome was a bit spicy for my tastes. Will make again and try some other spice combos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
I used sweet potato wedges (nuked instead of boiled) & honey nustard sauce to dip in. Don't think I'll use sweet potatos again ..not sure this particular spice combo was suitable for them (Bobby Flay has a seasoned fry recipe that works great w/ sweet potatos) but I'll try it again using regular potatoes w/ ranch dip like LAFLRA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
They were just alright. I guess I was looking for something with more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
I used french fry size potatoes and they came out great; tender inside and crunchy of the outside. Even my husband, the french fry eater, liked them. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
We thought these were very good. I nuked mine,[I don't think that matters]because of the heat. I used oil with the spices and brushed these on the wedges, in my grill pan. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I Baked mine at 425 for 50-60 minutes. (no boiling) They turned out well being baked. It was a tad spicy for my taste but I used extra sour cream to cut the heat in my mouth. I am whimpy when it comes to heat though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
these were not good. they were extremely dry and had no flavor. sour cream or catchup didn't help. if i were to try these again, i would probably coat them in butter or oil, spraying "pam" on them doesn't work at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allie von Schepp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Excellent! I love the mix of spices. I made two batches of these. One with regular paprika and added a little grated parmesan cheese (1/4 to 1/2 tsp - I really didn't measure). The other I used smoked paprika and added 1/8 tsp. of chili powder. Both were fabulous! I partially microwaved the potatoes vs. boiling which is much easier and a lot faster. I used Olive Oil Pam to make the seasoning stick. When I cut the potatoes into wedges I very lightly scored them. They came out crispy on the outside and tender on the inside, perfectly seasoned and great with a side of sour cream! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I liked the cooking method here as it ensured the wedges were beautifully crisp/chewy on the outside while the insides were very tender. I would probably add some salt other than just the celery salt to the seasoning blend next time and maybe finish them with a sprinkle of cheese as they come off the grill. The spice blend was nice enough but was missing something for me. The kids liked them though, and the (tastebud wimpy) hubs did too. I guess it's all a matter of personal taste. Thanks for the overall great recipe! Would definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Fruit Skewers

Skewered strawberries, mangoes, papayas, and pineapples all excel on the grill.

Crusty Herb Potato Wedges

See how to make perfect baked potato wedges with a crispy crust.

How to Make Grilled Eggplant Salad

Enjoy exotic northern African flavors in this grilled eggplant and pepper salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States