Spiced-Up Grilled Tater Wedges Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I used a different method for cooking the potatoes... I peel, slice and lightly coat in EVOO then essentially cook in the microwave for 6 minutes, removing and shaking the loosely covered container the fries are in. Once done with the microwave, toss with seasonings and bake for about 30-45 minutes, once they get crispy. This way they are tender on the inside but crisp on the inside. You can also add some cornstarch to the mix (roughly 1 tablespoon) to ensure crispiness. I doubled the seasonings for roughly 8 really small potatoes. I used a hot chili powder instead of cayenne, celery seed instead of the celery salt and added a half teaspoon of salt. It could have used a wee bit more spice and salt, but it was mild enough for my toddler to enjoy too. We didn't serve it with sour cream... Ketchup and mayo is the way we flow. Served this as a side to "Bayou Samburgers" from AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I like the method but where's the flavor?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I baked these instead of grilled them, so I put the potato wedges into a gallon bag, added 1 T oil and the seasonings. When the potatoes were coated, I baked them on parchment paper for 30 minutes at 400. My family loves these! We served them with yogurt instead of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I used 5 large red potatoes and 1 sweet potato instead of baking potatoes. Doubled the seasonings. Turned out great! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I liked the cooking method here as it ensured the wedges were beautifully crisp/chewy on the outside while the insides were very tender. I would probably add some salt other than just the celery salt to the seasoning blend next time and maybe finish them with a sprinkle of cheese as they come off the grill. The spice blend was nice enough but was missing something for me. The kids liked them though, and the (tastebud wimpy) hubs did too. I guess it's all a matter of personal taste. Thanks for the overall great recipe! Would definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Excellent! I love the mix of spices. I made two batches of these. One with regular paprika and added a little grated parmesan cheese (1/4 to 1/2 tsp - I really didn't measure). The other I used smoked paprika and added 1/8 tsp. of chili powder. Both were fabulous! I partially microwaved the potatoes vs. boiling which is much easier and a lot faster. I used Olive Oil Pam to make the seasoning stick. When I cut the potatoes into wedges I very lightly scored them. They came out crispy on the outside and tender on the inside, perfectly seasoned and great with a side of sour cream! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
these were not good. they were extremely dry and had no flavor. sour cream or catchup didn't help. if i were to try these again, i would probably coat them in butter or oil, spraying "pam" on them doesn't work at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allie von Schepp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I Baked mine at 425 for 50-60 minutes. (no boiling) They turned out well being baked. It was a tad spicy for my taste but I used extra sour cream to cut the heat in my mouth. I am whimpy when it comes to heat though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
We thought these were very good. I nuked mine,[I don't think that matters]because of the heat. I used oil with the spices and brushed these on the wedges, in my grill pan. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
I used french fry size potatoes and they came out great; tender inside and crunchy of the outside. Even my husband, the french fry eater, liked them. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Baked Potatoes

A delicious combination of baked and grilled potatoes in one dish.

How to Make Grilled Fruit Skewers

Skewered strawberries, mangoes, papayas, and pineapples all excel on the grill.

Crusty Herb Potato Wedges

See how to make perfect baked potato wedges with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States