Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ~Marianne~
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Wow! I WAY over did it and still came out great! Ok here's what I did, and bear with me, my man is a produce buyer at an organic co-op, so all ingredients were as such: 6-7 red peppers roasted over the stove and peeled 3 cloves garlic 2 cans garbanzo beans 3-4mire lemons 2-4 limes mixed variety Olive oil 2/3 c tahini ( misread the recipe!!) Salt Pepper Bunch of fresh French parsley Organic hot ghost/Thai powder (friend made) ***results *** a bit thin(due to so many peppers) but great flavor and versatile! Like granola, it's a recipe to use as is, or as a guide! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Marianne~

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mashpee, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
I added 2 tbsp of water and one whole pickled jalapeño. I did not have fresh parsley, so I omitted. I only used 1 Tbsp of Tahini. It's always best to put a little in and add more as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I made this recipe at my dinner party and all my guest loved it even those who said they had never tasted or liked hummus before. I used fresh chickpeas, chili powder instead of cayenne pepper, and olive oil to replace the tahini because that was what I had in my pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Added a tablespoon or so of water to help it blend a little better, but otherwise followed recipe as written. It was delicious and several friends asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Athens, Georgia, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Fantastic! I have made the other hi-rated Roasted Red Pepper Hummus on this site, and this is FAR superior. I was looking for a replacement to the Trader Joe's version that they no longer sell, and this was exactly it. I love it! Oh, I did add a tablespoon of oil to get the consistency that I wanted, but that is my only modification. I've made it twice now, and it's about 1 juiced lemon and one big scoop of tahini... that makes it even easier. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin' Dad

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
Loved it. Served it for a BBQ/Pool get together of 4 Moms and they all wanted the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Putnam Valley, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Very Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Qiana Kelsey

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mount Holly, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
This was wonderful! I added some chopped roasted garlic instead of minced. Put it all into my Nutri Bullet. I reserved some of the garbanzo bean juice from the can. I was worried that it might be a little too thick for the bullet. So I added some juice towards the end. It made creamier and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Very bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Excellent. Last time I made homemade red pepper hummus it just did not turn out, I'm glad I gave it a second chance. I made a couple of slight changes, decreased the lemon juice and added some olive oil, increased the garlic and decreased the cayenne, and it was near perfect. I've tried roasting my own peppers and I think buying the jar was worth it. I got a 12oz jar for a reasonable price, and this recipe only called for 4oz so I have enough to make this 2 more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 438) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States