Spiced Slow Cooker Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
This recipe is phenomenal and easy to follow. I used Pumpkin Pie Spice I recipe from this site and it was perfect. We served hot over vanilla ice cream and it tased just like Ben and Jerry's Apple Pie Ice Cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dad2twins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I used apple pie spice instead of the pumpkin. Also, I used dark brown sugar and only used 1/4 cup of water. I added the spice and 1/2 the sugar at the beginning of the cook cycle. After the apples had softened considerably, I tasted the sauce and added in the remaining sugar. The sauce, made with apple pie spices, taste the same as southern fried apples without the extra calories from the butter, and they are a wonderful addition to an old fashioned breakfast of sausage or ham, eggs, grits, and toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Don't bother cutting apples into thin slices -- the crock pot cooks them to pieces, anyway. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
i don't personally like applesauce, i made this for my 2 year old, who absolutely gobbled it up! so i'm assuming it was 5 star taste! this was so easy, i just peeled and cored my apples (3lbs worth) and put them in the crockpot without further cutting because i was planning on using my food processor after cooking which worked out great! i didn't measure the water, i just put in enough so apples were floating (way more than what recipe called for) and added about 2 handfuls of brown sugar, 2 cap fulls of lemon juice and vanilla, generous amounts of ground cloves, ginger, nutmeg and cinnamon to the crockpot before cooking. cooked on low about 6hrs, drained apples over a stock pot, put apples in the food processor and made apple cider with all that leftover spiced water by adding apple juice, orange juice, and apple peach passionfruit mixed juice i had on hand. it was awesome!! can't wait to make again! and will definitely do the extra water to make apple cider again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherryebomb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This is perfection! I just put all of the ingredients in the crockpot at the same time, cooked on high for a couple of hours, and used a potato masher to chunk it up a bit. It's even easier if you have an apple peeler/corer/slicer machine- it took me like 5 minutes to get everything into the crockpot. You can leave out the sugar, depending on the type of apples used, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, New York, USA
Living In: Bethel, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Yum!! I had something else in the crockpot, so I just simmered it on the stove for about four hours. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Yummy! I made the the recipe the same except I used apple pie spice and put it all together instead of just the water and apples first. Could have used less brown sugar, but 1/2 of my apples were a bit sweeter to begin with. Daughter is eating it as I write this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Great recipe...didn't use the slow cooker and it only took about two hours on the stove top...also added 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon and vanilla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
A nice change from my normail applesauce recipes. This is a luscious side with pork!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
I have been making applesauce for a few months now because I have a now 1 year old that I was sick of buying baby food for when I could just make it. Her favorite it chicken noodle soup and applesauce. I made this yesterday and she loved it hot. She is now eating some with toast for breakfast. The only thing I changed is I didn't have any pumpkin pie spice so I just looked what was in it and kind of made my own. I used granny smith apples because that is what I had. Next time I make this I would love to try some pears as suggested and toss in some strawberry's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erikagee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Slow Cooker Macaroni and Cheese

Just set it and forget it. Come home to cheesy comfort food in your crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States