Spiced Slow Cooker Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
This recipe is amazing. Getting an apple peeler helps if you make a double batch. I would suggest putting in a lot less brown sugar and adding some cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachel_K
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
After reading the reviews I decided to make this twice- once as written, and once modified. The way it's written (as others have said) is WAY too sweet, even for me and I love sugar lol. It was also too watery. So, I cut the water and sugar to 1/4c each and used Tara's suggestion to put the tea cloth under the lid (reduces recycled moisture) and this came out PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel_K

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
So low maintenance, I loved it! Just slice the apples and put them in the slow cooker and forget about it for 6 hours. Definitely adjust the amount of sugar according to your apples. I had Golden Delicious apples, which were sweet, so I only used 1/4 cup water and 1/4 cup brown sugar. Instead of the pumpkin pie spice, I just used 1 t. cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I used half of the required sugar and the result was tart and deliscious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILLYJH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Iowa, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
So easy and so good. Good hot or cold. Smiles from everyone. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Although I found the brown color off-putting, my five and three year old sons LOVED this homemade apple sauce. I did have to make my own pumpkin pie spice because I had all the ingredients but not the jarred mixture labeled "pumpkin pie spice." This may be why my turned out so brown, all the spices were ground fresh before mixing. But, as I said, my kids loved it and the taste I had (watching my sugar,so I didn't have a whole serving) was pretty awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PROZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Point, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
So good. Used a little less sugar.....then served it warm in little bowls with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. Favorite family dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
This is a great recipe and so much better than any store bought stuff! I took the tip one reviewer wrote about placing a towel between the lid and the crock pot. I used apple cider on both batches but will still probably reduce the qty of liquid at the start. I also added 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon because I love it. I will be making many more batches and canning them for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Loved it! I followed the recipe exactly, except I used all pears (I had a huge craving for them.) Will definitely put this down as a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
So easy and so amazing. Threw the apples and water in the crockpot before bed, and in the morning added the sugar and spice, making for an awesome breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Slow Cooker Macaroni and Cheese

Just set it and forget it. Come home to cheesy comfort food in your crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States