Spiced Slow Cooker Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Couldn't get any easier than this! A lot like pie filling! I used about 1/2 the sugar w/ Fuji apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Doubled the recipe, and halved the sugar (brown). Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
My mom makes this, except she makes it on the stove in a large stock pot. I don't have a pot or kettle large enough to make a big batch of applesauce, so I started looking for other ways to do it. Cooking it in a crock pot is such an awesome idea. When I told my mom about it, she couldn't believe she'd never thought of it herself. I used about half water and half cranberry juice for the liquid, to give it a bit more flavor, and, per a family tradition, I also add in a handful or two of cinnamon red-hot candies. This gives it a nice cinnamon kick and makes the sauce a beautiful rose color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
A great change of pace from traditional white sugar and cinnamon applesauce. So easy to do it in the slow cooker! I cut up the apples the night before, cooked it on slow all night and it was ready for breakfast in the morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This one is easy and tasty! Finicky dad thought it was so good, he recommended canning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I've made this a couple times. I liked it better the first time I made it, when I didn't have pumpkin pie spice or nutmeg and looked up what was in apple pie spice. That time I used cloves and cinnamon. I made it by the recipe this time, and I didn't like it as well until I added a little cloves in as well. It is still pretty good based on the recipe, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I made this for the first time and it was delicious. It made the house smell so good and it tasted great. Even my picky 17 year old thought is was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I have already made this twice in 2 weeks. The second time I doubled the recipe and I still ran out in a week!! This has become a household favorite very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Woah! Really delish but more of a dessert than a side dish with all that sugar. If you're using this as a side for pork chops, halve the sugar. If you're using it as a base for a scoop of vanilla ice cream and crumbled graham crackers (YUM), make as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brooklynsurecooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topsfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Displaying results 151-160 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Slow Cooker Macaroni and Cheese

Just set it and forget it. Come home to cheesy comfort food in your crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States