Spiced Slow Cooker Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Nothing makes your house smell better! I too reduced the sugar (after trying it once as written) to 1/2 cup and upped the spice to 1 tsp, and used the pumpkin pie spice II recipe from here. My DD can't get enough of it. If you're making it when your littles are around, be sure to slice up an apple for them, or they'll be stealing them as you slice them for the crockpot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Charlton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I did make this and thought it was too sweet. Next time I will use Spenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Couldn't get any easier than this! A lot like pie filling! I used about 1/2 the sugar w/ Fuji apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Doubled the recipe, and halved the sugar (brown). Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
My mom makes this, except she makes it on the stove in a large stock pot. I don't have a pot or kettle large enough to make a big batch of applesauce, so I started looking for other ways to do it. Cooking it in a crock pot is such an awesome idea. When I told my mom about it, she couldn't believe she'd never thought of it herself. I used about half water and half cranberry juice for the liquid, to give it a bit more flavor, and, per a family tradition, I also add in a handful or two of cinnamon red-hot candies. This gives it a nice cinnamon kick and makes the sauce a beautiful rose color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
A great change of pace from traditional white sugar and cinnamon applesauce. So easy to do it in the slow cooker! I cut up the apples the night before, cooked it on slow all night and it was ready for breakfast in the morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This one is easy and tasty! Finicky dad thought it was so good, he recommended canning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I've made this a couple times. I liked it better the first time I made it, when I didn't have pumpkin pie spice or nutmeg and looked up what was in apple pie spice. That time I used cloves and cinnamon. I made it by the recipe this time, and I didn't like it as well until I added a little cloves in as well. It is still pretty good based on the recipe, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I made this for the first time and it was delicious. It made the house smell so good and it tasted great. Even my picky 17 year old thought is was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Holm Zula

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Slow Cooker Macaroni and Cheese

Just set it and forget it. Come home to cheesy comfort food in your crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States