Spiced Slow Cooker Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Excellent. Super easy, but tastes like you've slaved all day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Wonderful! I used honeycrisp apples and added a bit more of the spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Family loved this recipe, all age groups! This was a huge hit, I used 12 apples and it was all gone by the end of Christmas Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Very yummy! Worked better in my older crock pot, since it didn't get as brown in there. Left out the water by accident, and didn't miss it. Next time, just used one or two tbsp of water, and that was fine to stop excess browning. Also, cut the sugar a little, and that was good too. Used 1/2 tsp. cinnamon, dash cloves, and dash nutmeg in place of pumpkin pie spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Did this with 4 large granny smith and 4 large Fuji apples and cut back a little on the brown sugar (NO WHITE!) for a more natural flavor. LOVE IT WILL MAKE IT OVER AND OVER AGAIN!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Nothing makes your house smell better! I too reduced the sugar (after trying it once as written) to 1/2 cup and upped the spice to 1 tsp, and used the pumpkin pie spice II recipe from here. My DD can't get enough of it. If you're making it when your littles are around, be sure to slice up an apple for them, or they'll be stealing them as you slice them for the crockpot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Charlton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I did make this and thought it was too sweet. Next time I will use Spenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Couldn't get any easier than this! A lot like pie filling! I used about 1/2 the sugar w/ Fuji apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Doubled the recipe, and halved the sugar (brown). Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
My mom makes this, except she makes it on the stove in a large stock pot. I don't have a pot or kettle large enough to make a big batch of applesauce, so I started looking for other ways to do it. Cooking it in a crock pot is such an awesome idea. When I told my mom about it, she couldn't believe she'd never thought of it herself. I used about half water and half cranberry juice for the liquid, to give it a bit more flavor, and, per a family tradition, I also add in a handful or two of cinnamon red-hot candies. This gives it a nice cinnamon kick and makes the sauce a beautiful rose color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Honey-Garlic Slow Cooker Chicken Thighs

Easy recipe for tender, sweet and savory chicken thighs.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States