Spiced Slow Cooker Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Great recipe...didn't use the slow cooker and it only took about two hours on the stove top...also added 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon and vanilla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
A nice change from my normail applesauce recipes. This is a luscious side with pork!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
I have been making applesauce for a few months now because I have a now 1 year old that I was sick of buying baby food for when I could just make it. Her favorite it chicken noodle soup and applesauce. I made this yesterday and she loved it hot. She is now eating some with toast for breakfast. The only thing I changed is I didn't have any pumpkin pie spice so I just looked what was in it and kind of made my own. I used granny smith apples because that is what I had. Next time I make this I would love to try some pears as suggested and toss in some strawberry's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erikagee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
This apple sauce was awesome. My whole family enjoyed it! I will never buy store bought applesauce again, it was too easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
A very good applesauce recipe - I followed the directions exactly, using the Pumpkin Spice I recipe found here on Allrecipes. To prepare my apples I peeled and cored them, cut them in half, and then sliced from stem to bottom making thin (half a cm) slices before piling them into the slow cooker. This took awhile (I'm VERY slow at peeling/cutting fruits and veggies) but I think it helped make the apples fall apart more to better copy the traditional texture you'd get in store-bought applesauce. The taste is delicious - reminds me of apple pie. One thing I would warn against is that it is INCREDIBLY sweet as written. For somebody like me who is used to unsweetened applesauce, the brown sugar is a little overwhelming. I would suggest toning down the sugar or even eliminating it all together if you prefer a fruitier taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
This was excellent! I used Gala applees because I had them. I also used splenda instead of granulated sugar becaise pf doabetes. My husband found it and began eating it with rice and oatmeal for a couple or mornings, and then there was only a tiny bit left and I had to grab it if I wanted any. I'm going to buy a big bag of apples just to cook this when we shop tomorrow, and I'm going to try freezing it, if I can get enough to do that before DH and Son get their hands on it! 20 stars, if I could. Thanks bunches
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I LOVE THIS! I have made it 3x in the last month, and I can't get enough of it. It tastes like apple pie filling, and it is so good! I've used a mixture each time, using Jonagold, Golden Delicious, and Cameo. It made for a great treat straight from the crock pot after playing outside in the snow. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
This is really good! We are actually living in Mexico for the winter and you can't buy applesauce here. Fortunately, I do have a slow cooker and apples are readily available. It smells wonderful while it's cooking. Thanks for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This recipe is great. I was trying to find a replacement of my mom's applesauce, and it came pretty darn close. I used red delicious & Macintosh apples. I also put in about a teaspoon of vanilla and a couple sprinkles of cinnamon with the apples and water when starting cooking. Definitely great, I will make this quite often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This was yummy! My 4 year old helped me peel the apples, so it was a fun project together. Woke up this morning...applesauce! I did run it through the food processor so it would be more smooth, but that is just our preference. I followed the recipe as is, and it was good! Great oatmeal topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Honey-Garlic Slow Cooker Chicken Thighs

Easy recipe for tender, sweet and savory chicken thighs.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States