Spiced Slow Cooker Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
An easy to put together applesauce. I used Macintosh apples (so good this season). When cooked the applesauce was a little watery. I'll try again with less water added. I did not add all the brown sugar - way too sweet for me. It might be a good idea to taste adding to your own level of sweetness. Thanks A.S.G. I will make a few more batches this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
My first time making applesauce! I have a ton of apples, so I doubled evrything except I left the brown sugar at 2/3 cup. It was still quite sweet. So delicious! Everyone loves and I made 3 times so far (apple picking season).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiesmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I found this to be too sweet for my taste, but it was a great alternative to making applesauce on the stovetop. Next time I will try it with about 1/4 cup of sugar or less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
This recipe is phenomenal and easy to follow. I used Pumpkin Pie Spice I recipe from this site and it was perfect. We served hot over vanilla ice cream and it tased just like Ben and Jerry's Apple Pie Ice Cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dad2twins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I used apple pie spice instead of the pumpkin. Also, I used dark brown sugar and only used 1/4 cup of water. I added the spice and 1/2 the sugar at the beginning of the cook cycle. After the apples had softened considerably, I tasted the sauce and added in the remaining sugar. The sauce, made with apple pie spices, taste the same as southern fried apples without the extra calories from the butter, and they are a wonderful addition to an old fashioned breakfast of sausage or ham, eggs, grits, and toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Don't bother cutting apples into thin slices -- the crock pot cooks them to pieces, anyway. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
i don't personally like applesauce, i made this for my 2 year old, who absolutely gobbled it up! so i'm assuming it was 5 star taste! this was so easy, i just peeled and cored my apples (3lbs worth) and put them in the crockpot without further cutting because i was planning on using my food processor after cooking which worked out great! i didn't measure the water, i just put in enough so apples were floating (way more than what recipe called for) and added about 2 handfuls of brown sugar, 2 cap fulls of lemon juice and vanilla, generous amounts of ground cloves, ginger, nutmeg and cinnamon to the crockpot before cooking. cooked on low about 6hrs, drained apples over a stock pot, put apples in the food processor and made apple cider with all that leftover spiced water by adding apple juice, orange juice, and apple peach passionfruit mixed juice i had on hand. it was awesome!! can't wait to make again! and will definitely do the extra water to make apple cider again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherryebomb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This is perfection! I just put all of the ingredients in the crockpot at the same time, cooked on high for a couple of hours, and used a potato masher to chunk it up a bit. It's even easier if you have an apple peeler/corer/slicer machine- it took me like 5 minutes to get everything into the crockpot. You can leave out the sugar, depending on the type of apples used, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, New York, USA
Living In: Bethel, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Yum!! I had something else in the crockpot, so I just simmered it on the stove for about four hours. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Yummy! I made the the recipe the same except I used apple pie spice and put it all together instead of just the water and apples first. Could have used less brown sugar, but 1/2 of my apples were a bit sweeter to begin with. Daughter is eating it as I write this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 131-140 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Honey-Garlic Slow Cooker Chicken Thighs

Easy recipe for tender, sweet and savory chicken thighs.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States