Spiced Slow Cooker Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This was really good. Another kicked up applesauce is using 8 to 10 apples, semi peeled, cored and chunked. 3/4 cup red hot cinnamon candies, 1/2 cup apple juice (or cranberry juice) 1/2 cup sugar (if desired). Put all ingredients in a crock pot and let cook for 4 to 6 hours on low (until consistency is like applesauce). This smells wonderful and kids love it!!! I also add a little more cinnamon to the recipe as we love cinnamon! Its not spicy...just very different and it comes out looking red!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Soooo easy! Mine took less than 6 hours and I only used 1/4 cup of brown sugar. I used a combination of golden delicious, red delicious and fiji apples. Pureed some in the food processor and my 6 mo.old grandniece loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I enjoyed this very much, it reminds me of apple pie without the crust, I didn’t use as much sugar, I think it will depend on the apples and I had a mixture some sweet and tart, and I don’t like thing real sweet! And it makes the house smell good! I had a little fresh squeezed orange juice so I added water to make ½ cup and it was fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
So good@ I like to put all the ingredients in at the beginning and cook them all together. I've also added dried cranberries. Great with ice cream and with short bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Aside from peeling the apples, this recipe was super-easy and wonderfully tasty. My husband raved about the applesauce on his pork tenderloin. I made 1.5 batches and had to start the cooking in a larger pot, then once the apples reduced was able to transfer into a standard size crockpot. I think 6 hours of cooking is the upper limit needed, but that may depend on the cooking temp of the crockpot. I used granny smiths, jazz, and honey crisp apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I am excited about this recipe! I am just starting to discover the joys of crockpot cooking, and right in time to work with the remaining apples from my tree. NOTE: I am experimenting with adding 1/4 cup bourbon and 1/3 cup water, instead of 1/2 cup water. My apples sizes vary too; I think I have about 3 pounds to work with. Looking forward to the yummy kitchen smells!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thebrenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Delicious! I ended up quadrupling the recipe (that's what happens when u have an apple tree :-)), but still minimizing the brown sugar by at least half. It may be our late season apples, but I could tell the full amount of brown sugar would be way too sweet! Still delicious, though. It tastes like apple pie in bowl! I'd even suggest warming it up and adding ice cream or whipped cream! Yummers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TwoPie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Loves2Cook
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I made this recipe exactly as written, and it was really good. I used granny smith apples, and served it with pork city chicken. Definitely something I'll make again. I use applesauce in my granola bars and I can't wait to try using this instead of the store bought stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
MMMMM, so very yummy! I had to cut this recipe in half as I only had 4 apples to use up (2 royal gala and 2 mac's). I upped the pumpkin pie spice a bit (even though I cut the recipe down) and I reduced the sugar to about 1/4 cup. Cooked on low for about 6 hours and the result, oh so good! I will for sure make this super easy recipe again, the hardest part is peeling and coring all the apples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Fantastic! Perfect as is, and delicious over vanilla ice cream :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJsMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 101-110 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Honey-Garlic Slow Cooker Chicken Thighs

Easy recipe for tender, sweet and savory chicken thighs.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States