Spiced Slow Cooker Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
This has turned out to be very poplular. My wife's co-workers and our church have come to EXPECT me to make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lifeskinsfan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Derwood, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I love slow cooker recipes. This one is used every year in the fall when I get a pile of apples for cheap from the farmer's market. I typically use Jonathan apples, although JoniGold's were lovely and allowed me to reduce the sugar a little. I would recommend finding your own spice combination preference. This turned out a bit strong for me. Perhaps use a spice combo from an apple pie recipe that you like. It's a great recipe and I think the spices are very "personal" -- each person needs to find their own exact combo. (See "All Day Applebutter" for a similar recipe)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ophelia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Virginia, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
This was yummy! I never made homemade applesauce before, but it was great. I cut the apples and water in half (fed 4 people), eyeballed the brown sugar (prob. about 1/4 cup), added a splash of cinnamon, and used just under 1/2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice. Threw it all in my 1.5 qt. crock pot on low for about 4.5 hours, and everyone loved it! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Stout

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I REALLY wanted to like this and I made it exactly the way it was written; but, sadly there was just waaaaaaaay too much sugar in it and it was just a little too watery. I really wish I had read some of the reviews before making this. I do plan to make this again; however, I will reduce the water slightly and reduce the sugare to 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Really 10 stars for this ....super yum! I inherited 8 large red delicious apples which I personally don't care for as an "eating" apple ........and I usually make homemade applesauce in the fall....but I decided not to waste these. Reduced the brown sugar to 1/4c which was plenty sweet and used 1/2tblspn of cinnamon and 1/2tsp of nutmeg and kept the water measurement the same. Love the crockpot method for cooking applesauce. Easy and amazingly delicious. Healthy because you can control the sugar content. Easily freezable and always yummy as a substitute for oil in baked goods. Honestly I think the best pot if applesauce I have ever made. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
This was an ok recipe. It was way too sweet for my taste, but it could be because my apples were small. My daughter loved it and has asked for it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMCookinNow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I cannot believe I have made it to 50 years old and have never thot to make applesauce, but I recently had oral surgery and could not eat anything chewy, meaty or crunchy...what to do? Go to AllRecipes! This applesauce was incredible. I used all the different apples in the pantry (I had 11 of them!) including Gala, Fuji, Grannysmith and Honeycrisp. Threw 'em in the 6 qt. slowcooker on low with a cup of water...they were done enough for me at 5 hours. I added a cup of raisins (o glorious plump and juicy raisin, how I worship thee!), a half-cup of brown sugar (the apples would have been fine without it, but I was jonesin' for some sweetness), threw in 1 teaspoon of cinammon, 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg, and a pinch of allspice, mace and cardamom...and the house smells wonderful. 1/2 hour later I was eating applesauce for dinner! Big sloppy kisses to ASG for this wunnerful recipe, that was perfect for my sore lil mouth after surgery, but I will be making again when I feed the firemen next month, and have potlucks in the future. Otherwise, I know me...I will make this pile of yumminess and eat it all myself! I can just imagine what this would be like over vanilla ice cream....sigh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie may

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This is so incredibly easy and delicious. The only downside is the effort involved in peeling the apples, which is quite time consuming considering how much apples cook down. To give you an idea of how much this recipe yields, a 3 lb bag of apples will make ~2 - 2.5 cups of applesauce, so definitely buy a ton of apples so you can make a big batch. This stuff won't last long once you make it... so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Love this - great way to take care of those apples that have been sitting around for a while. The house smells heavenly while this is cooking too!! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antigonish, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I made this applesauce to go with our Christmas ham. Everyone raved about how good it was. I put the brown sugar and pumpkin pie spice in at the beginning. I used Granny Smith apples and the amount of sugar was just right. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Watsonville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Honey-Garlic Slow Cooker Chicken Thighs

Easy recipe for tender, sweet and savory chicken thighs.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States