Spiced Slow Cooker Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sniperkitten313
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
This recipe is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
I have always made applesauce on the stove-top, but I had to use the slow cooker for this year's Thanksgiving dinner. I used a combo of Gala, Honeycrisp, Jona Gold and Grannysmith.I don't care for pumpkin pie spice, so I just added a cinnamon stick. It came out really good, although as another reviewer mentioned, the color was a bit dark. For those complaining that it was too sweet or too watery, I have a suggestion; from years of trial and error, I make it a habit to taste the apples before adding any amount of sugar or water. I have used apples that were so sweet and juicy, they barely needed anything added and I have used apples that were dry and not very sweet and had to add more sugar and water than called for. If you can find them, try Jazz apples. I discovered these gems last summer in a grocery store. They were sold in a 3 pound bag. They make the absolute best applesauce. I had to keep the fridge stocked with it for months per DH's request. They are not always available here, but when they are, I stock up and make batches to freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Yummy! I used 5 gold delicious and 5 red delicious apples since that's what I had on hand and wanted to use up. I sliced very thin using my mandolin. Added 3/4 cup water and cooked on low for six hours. I added 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/2 tsp. cinnamon and dash of nutmeg at the end, stirred and heated through for another 30 mins. Wonderful. I honestly don't see how one could mess this up since it tasted perfect without adding anything. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Added more apples (maybe 25-20 but, i'm cooking for a big family) so I also increased the sugar and pumpkin pie spice. Less water and also added 1 tablespoon cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
First time making applesauce. Awesome recipe. I put the sugar and spice in at the beginning made my house smell delicious. My husband said it tasted like the filling to a Mc Donald hot apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
add additional cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I upped the pumpkin pie spice to just about a tsp. It is amazing in steel cut oatmeal or in vanilla yogurt with granola on top. Scrumptious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
It is a very unique take on traditional applesauce. Not a slow cooker person, I pressure cooked it. 4 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I wanted to make something special for my applesauce-loving overnight guests, and this recipe was just delightful. My "pumpkin pie spice" (I didn't have anything pre-mixed on hand) was 1 tsp. cinnamon, 1/4 tsp. ginger, 1/4 tsp. nutmeg, and 1/8 tsp. cloves. The only change I made to the recipe was to add about 1 1/2 tsp. fresh-squeezed lemon juice for a slight tartness and to keep it fresh longer. Next time I plan to add a bit of vanilla extract to fill out the flavor even more. I'll let you know how it goes. =) This is, without question, a five star recipe. Thank you so much for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Excellent! I added some cinnamon & nutmeg also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Honey-Garlic Slow Cooker Chicken Thighs

Easy recipe for tender, sweet and savory chicken thighs.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States