Spiced Slow Cooker Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
It is a very unique take on traditional applesauce. Not a slow cooker person, I pressure cooked it. 4 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I wanted to make something special for my applesauce-loving overnight guests, and this recipe was just delightful. My "pumpkin pie spice" (I didn't have anything pre-mixed on hand) was 1 tsp. cinnamon, 1/4 tsp. ginger, 1/4 tsp. nutmeg, and 1/8 tsp. cloves. The only change I made to the recipe was to add about 1 1/2 tsp. fresh-squeezed lemon juice for a slight tartness and to keep it fresh longer. Next time I plan to add a bit of vanilla extract to fill out the flavor even more. I'll let you know how it goes. =) This is, without question, a five star recipe. Thank you so much for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Excellent! I added some cinnamon & nutmeg also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Instead of cooking the apples in plain water, I cooked them in Pumpkin Chai Tea from DAVIDsTEA, making it both caffeinated AND delicious! Actually, the amount of caffeine incorporated into the recipe is negligible, so it's still great to serve to kids or caffeine-sensitive people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Herbert the Snail

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
This was so delicious and made the house smell so good! I look forward to having it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ponytail Goddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freeport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I made this for my folks and sister and her family for Xmas put in nice Xmas jars they enjoyed it very much:) omitted the pumpkin spice .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Hall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rye Beach, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Seneca, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
This is just as good to smell cooking as it is to eat! I only used 1/4 cup sugar, otherwise it would have been way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
If use Fuji, gala, and honey crisp, you don't need the extra sugar. That's if you are looking to minimize your sugar intake from your diet. It's already sweet as candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Fantastic recipe! I used granny smiths & a couple of braeburn apples. The pumpkin pie spice was a great change from the norm. This will be our go-to applesauce recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brush Prairie, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Try adding 1/4 cup of water and 1/4 cup of bourbon. We call it drunken apples and it's a favorite. You might want to make 2 batches -- one with 100 proof and one without if you have children :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LFERRON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brentwood, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States