Spiced Slow Cooker Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2015
This is a great recipe, I will definitely be making it again! Next batch will have more apples, a little less sugar and up the spice to 1 teaspoon. I prefer to add more apples instead of less water, my family and I like our sauce chunky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2015
Very easy & the kids liked it. I'll try less sugar next time, as my apples were pretty sweet already. Definitely reminded me of fall. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sniperkitten313
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
This recipe is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
I have always made applesauce on the stove-top, but I had to use the slow cooker for this year's Thanksgiving dinner. I used a combo of Gala, Honeycrisp, Jona Gold and Grannysmith.I don't care for pumpkin pie spice, so I just added a cinnamon stick. It came out really good, although as another reviewer mentioned, the color was a bit dark. For those complaining that it was too sweet or too watery, I have a suggestion; from years of trial and error, I make it a habit to taste the apples before adding any amount of sugar or water. I have used apples that were so sweet and juicy, they barely needed anything added and I have used apples that were dry and not very sweet and had to add more sugar and water than called for. If you can find them, try Jazz apples. I discovered these gems last summer in a grocery store. They were sold in a 3 pound bag. They make the absolute best applesauce. I had to keep the fridge stocked with it for months per DH's request. They are not always available here, but when they are, I stock up and make batches to freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Yummy! I used 5 gold delicious and 5 red delicious apples since that's what I had on hand and wanted to use up. I sliced very thin using my mandolin. Added 3/4 cup water and cooked on low for six hours. I added 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/2 tsp. cinnamon and dash of nutmeg at the end, stirred and heated through for another 30 mins. Wonderful. I honestly don't see how one could mess this up since it tasted perfect without adding anything. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Added more apples (maybe 25-20 but, i'm cooking for a big family) so I also increased the sugar and pumpkin pie spice. Less water and also added 1 tablespoon cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
First time making applesauce. Awesome recipe. I put the sugar and spice in at the beginning made my house smell delicious. My husband said it tasted like the filling to a Mc Donald hot apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
add additional cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I upped the pumpkin pie spice to just about a tsp. It is amazing in steel cut oatmeal or in vanilla yogurt with granola on top. Scrumptious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
It is a very unique take on traditional applesauce. Not a slow cooker person, I pressure cooked it. 4 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Honey-Garlic Slow Cooker Chicken Thighs

Easy recipe for tender, sweet and savory chicken thighs.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States