Spiced Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Very good and easy. After reading reviews I cut the Cayenne in half and didn't find it spicy at all, next time I'll try it as written. I also didn't have onion salt so I used garlic salt in place of garlic powder and onion powder in place of onion salt, otherwise exactly as written and they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Great spices in this recipe. My time saving change worked nicely. I didn't par boil them as it was another pot to wash. My coated potatoes were baked on a foil lined baking sheet, using a 425 oven (rather than 350) for 20 minutes, then I turned and baked another 10 minutes. The higher heat crisps and browns the outsides allowing the inside to remain soft. Perfect!! Some were saying it was too spicy. I suggest leaving out the cayenne. Again, great spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roselle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I like spicy stuff, but this just really wasn't the best to me. Unlike others, I had no problem with the level of cayenne & chili powder -- I think it was more the paprika. Not that I would have said this myself, but somehow I understand L Deville's comment that they were way too spicy but at the same time bland. Like somehow the combo didn't come together and make a good flavor or something. I love potatoes and have made a lot of different potato dishes, and sorry, but there's just other things I'd rather make - this was just OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
My children thought these were too spicy (although they are not potato fans anyway, so who knows, they might not even have eaten them with less spice), but my husband *loved* them. I thought they were great too. I did substitute one tsp Italian seasoning for the parsley, since I didn't have any dried parsley on hand. I will definitely be making these again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
The cayenne pepper overpowers all the other spices, and make these potatoes inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Very tasty. I added some chopped onion to the potatoes. For those that these were too spicy cut back on the spices up front. You can always add as you serve them. Unlike baking cooking is not an exact science i.e. you can adjust the ingredients to suit your tastes/.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
they were delicious! my kid brother hates potatoes and he gobbled them up :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
These weren't the best potaetoes I've made but my husband and kids loved them. I didn't have onion salt so I substituted for onion powder and used garlic salt insead of garlic powder. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
LOVE this spice combo, but I had to scale back the cayenne fore my fiancé's tastes. I found the cooking time a little long too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
We thought these were great. I used this seasoning mix but not this method of cooking because it seemed like more hassle than my usual way. (Bag the cut up raw potatoes with the oil and seasonings, dump the bag onto a baking sheet, roast at 400 degrees for 50 minutes or until tender). I did add dehydrated onion to the mixture because I never miss a chance to add those. This was pretty spicy, very tasty, but I have a decent tolerance for heat and I did find myself being very glad my main dish had a cooling property! Thanks for the recipe, we'll use this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States