Spiced Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
Very good and very easy. I cooked in the crockpot. Threw in all ingredients and cooked on low for 7 hours. GREAT GRAVY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
I was looking for a good recipe to use up a random bottle of pear chutney. This was delicious! I made this using a chuck roast in the slow cooker and cooked for about 8 hours (adding potatoes and carrots halfway). The beef was very tender and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
This is a delicious recipe! Thanks so much for sharing it. I made it with cranberries instead of raisins, and no chutney, and it still turned out amazing and so tender. My whole family was raving about it and now they think I'm an awesome cook. No knives were needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
This was soooo good and so easy to make. My two year old gobbled it up and so did we! The meat was very very tender. I used apple pear chutney and followed the recipe to a T. Definitely going into the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
What a roast! Prepared to the recipe and it was delicious and the family asked if we could have it again in a couple days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
I use a very similar recipe taken from a 1949 Woman's Home Companion Cookbook. MY recipe doesn't call for curry or chutney. It does use 1/2 c raisins,2 sliced onions, beef broth, 1 clove minced garlic and 2 bay leaves. I make pan gravy from the drippings. The gravy is dark and very rich. I made this last night and it was wonderful. I will use the leftovers tonight for enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie Jean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This was the most unique and amazing pot roast I have ever made or tried. Followed the recipe exactly. Thanks for sharing! This will be a part of the rotation now :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
Amazing!! We add some dried fenugreek leaves and sometimes use fresh ginger and garlic, but whatever we do this is an amazing meal. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Not the same old spices and flavors, but still not too far out. The house smelled wonderful and the roast disappeared. Definitely one of the better recipes I've tried. Make it just as written, no changes needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sidney, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sunbury, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Didn't have nor have I ever used chutney before...and I used Craisins instead of raisins because that was what I had. that said, this recipe was FANTASTIC! Why didn't I think of using the dutch oven sooner? I've been using the "bag method" and it's never turned out right. This was soooooooo tender. I ended up turning the heat down to 300 and roasting it longer, as I read this was what you should do for the cheaper cuts to ensure more tenderness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, Montana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States