Spiced Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Outstanding! This was by far the best pot roast I have EVER made.... Wonderful does not even begin to describe it!!! I was hesitant after reading the ingredients, but they came together beautifully. NOTE: If you do not like a sweet sauce/meat this is not the recipe for you.... HELPFUL HINTS: This recipe works just as well in the crockpot as the oven. Lightly brown the meat on all sides and though any chutney might do, USE a hot mango/peach chutney as it seems to be the key in pulling together the complexity of flavors. I pureed the raisins and onions that did not cook "down", and added them back to the crock pot. I then took some of the liquid from the pot and added corn starch for thickner. As soon as it started thickening, I added cups of the remaining broth to make the gravy which absolutely enhanced the flavor. I let it bubble for a minute or two, then added a small shake of cinammon to the gravy and continued to let it cook. I have served this separately over noodles and jasmine rice and loved it both ways. I guarantee you will not be disappointed. The aroma alone permeates the whole house..... Wonderful!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
285 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
Very good and very easy. I cooked in the crockpot. Threw in all ingredients and cooked on low for 7 hours. GREAT GRAVY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
I enjoyed this very much. The whole family did. I didn't have chutney or raisins on hand (don't really care for raisins in cooked foods) and it was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Made this without the raisins, and per another reader' suggestion, used hot mango chutney. It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
I use a very similar recipe taken from a 1949 Woman's Home Companion Cookbook. MY recipe doesn't call for curry or chutney. It does use 1/2 c raisins,2 sliced onions, beef broth, 1 clove minced garlic and 2 bay leaves. I make pan gravy from the drippings. The gravy is dark and very rich. I made this last night and it was wonderful. I will use the leftovers tonight for enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie Jean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Didn't have nor have I ever used chutney before...and I used Craisins instead of raisins because that was what I had. that said, this recipe was FANTASTIC! Why didn't I think of using the dutch oven sooner? I've been using the "bag method" and it's never turned out right. This was soooooooo tender. I ended up turning the heat down to 300 and roasting it longer, as I read this was what you should do for the cheaper cuts to ensure more tenderness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, Montana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
Excellent flavor and a nice change for a roast. I made a few changes. Added 1/8 tsp paprika, 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper and a couple dashes cinnamon. After browning, placed in 13x9 pan with sauce,covered 2 directions with heavy duty foil and cooked at 300 for 4 1/2 hours. Turned the oven off until I was ready for dinner. Thickened sauce by adding 1 beef bouillin cube and flour over med heat. This made for an excellent gravy with a spicey beef flavor. This will be one of our favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhonda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Not the same old spices and flavors, but still not too far out. The house smelled wonderful and the roast disappeared. Definitely one of the better recipes I've tried. Make it just as written, no changes needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sidney, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sunbury, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
The ingredients looked a little odd, but I figured all these five star reviews couldn't be wrong. I'm glad I tried it - it was delicious! I didn't have any chutney, so I added extra onions and about a teaspoon each of sugar and vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
I added things at the wrong time, put in too much broth by accident, had to use a mixture of scallions and onion flakes and this was still one of the best roasts I have ever produced. Leftovers were gone by noon the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States