Spiced Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Very very very good! Do not omit the raisins, they give it this sweet flavour! I added a can of diced tomatoes and chilis to give it some bite. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Realma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I have never made pot roast before it was my first time and i was cooking for 5 hungry guys...and myself the serving size was on point and the flavor was delish!! All the guys in the house LOVED it! The smell is awesome as one review read. I used mild mango chutney by kerala curry found at harris teeter for about $4. i didnt have the dutch oven i used a tinted glass dish lightly covered with foil...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Very good! I added some vegetables (carrots, potatoes, celery) in with the roast for the last hour or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockledge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Wales, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Very good recipe. I actually cooked this in my slow cooker all day. I had a 4 lb. chuck roast which I salted and peppered, seared all sides in my pan and didn't bother to put flour on it at all. I then put the meat in my crock pot and put the rest of the ingredients and cooked all day. After 6 hours, I shredded the beef and put it back in the crock pot to absorb all the flavors. When we had dinner around 7 PM, it was very juicy, moist and flavorful. A keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
This was good, but I'll probably stick with my standard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Finally, a "pot roast" recipe my husband loves. In fact, all of us, including my 3 young children loved it. Sadly, no leftovers. I didn't have any chutney so I subbed sweet & sour sauce. Did not use any flour (gluten free!) and did not brown the meat - just threw everything in the crock pot on low until tender - about 5 hours. Served with rice. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Fantastic. Followed recipe exaclty. Used mango chutney. Served with shallot mashed potatoes (brown thinly-sliced shallots in butter until brown, add cream, s&p, and warm, then mash with potatoes). A recipe that takes little effort, but produces excellent results. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
WOW.....WHAT A WONDERFUL RECIPE!!! So used to "boring" pot roast with onion mix and gravy. Decided to take a chance and try this exotic recipe out. SO GLAD I DID!!! This is a gourmet tasting meal. Cooked in a dutch oven, meat came out fork tender. Plum chutney added amazing depth of flavor and the raisins were a subtly sweet touch. Served with red potatoes and carrots. This is an elegant meal which will truly impress friends & family. BON APPETIT;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Amazing. I trusted fellow reviewers and was do pleased i did. Don't let the exotic ingredients scare u off. I browned the roast and threw everything on a slow cooker. I came home to a wonderful dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by latinmama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
We loved this recipe. I had my doubts, but wow. So tender and flavorful. I made my own chutney and it was good, but I used a little too much. Also, we like spicy and I thought it could use a little more heat. My dad who doesn't try anything different or ethnic at all (sushi, no way) loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States