Spiced Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Very very very good! Do not omit the raisins, they give it this sweet flavour! I added a can of diced tomatoes and chilis to give it some bite. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Realma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I have never made pot roast before it was my first time and i was cooking for 5 hungry guys...and myself the serving size was on point and the flavor was delish!! All the guys in the house LOVED it! The smell is awesome as one review read. I used mild mango chutney by kerala curry found at harris teeter for about $4. i didnt have the dutch oven i used a tinted glass dish lightly covered with foil...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Very good! I added some vegetables (carrots, potatoes, celery) in with the roast for the last hour or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockledge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Wales, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Very good recipe. I actually cooked this in my slow cooker all day. I had a 4 lb. chuck roast which I salted and peppered, seared all sides in my pan and didn't bother to put flour on it at all. I then put the meat in my crock pot and put the rest of the ingredients and cooked all day. After 6 hours, I shredded the beef and put it back in the crock pot to absorb all the flavors. When we had dinner around 7 PM, it was very juicy, moist and flavorful. A keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
This was good, but I'll probably stick with my standard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Wacker Strange

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Finally, a "pot roast" recipe my husband loves. In fact, all of us, including my 3 young children loved it. Sadly, no leftovers. I didn't have any chutney so I subbed sweet & sour sauce. Did not use any flour (gluten free!) and did not brown the meat - just threw everything in the crock pot on low until tender - about 5 hours. Served with rice. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Fantastic. Followed recipe exaclty. Used mango chutney. Served with shallot mashed potatoes (brown thinly-sliced shallots in butter until brown, add cream, s&p, and warm, then mash with potatoes). A recipe that takes little effort, but produces excellent results. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
WOW.....WHAT A WONDERFUL RECIPE!!! So used to "boring" pot roast with onion mix and gravy. Decided to take a chance and try this exotic recipe out. SO GLAD I DID!!! This is a gourmet tasting meal. Cooked in a dutch oven, meat came out fork tender. Plum chutney added amazing depth of flavor and the raisins were a subtly sweet touch. Served with red potatoes and carrots. This is an elegant meal which will truly impress friends & family. BON APPETIT;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Amazing. I trusted fellow reviewers and was do pleased i did. Don't let the exotic ingredients scare u off. I browned the roast and threw everything on a slow cooker. I came home to a wonderful dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by latinmama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
We loved this recipe. I had my doubts, but wow. So tender and flavorful. I made my own chutney and it was good, but I used a little too much. Also, we like spicy and I thought it could use a little more heat. My dad who doesn't try anything different or ethnic at all (sushi, no way) loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States