Spiced Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
After years of attempting to make the perfect pot roast, this one takes the cake! It is the perfect blend of comfort food and curry. I used apricot preserves instead of chutney, and tiit still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carrollton, Texas, USA
Living In: Grovetown, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This is an excellent recipe. No changes made to this at all except the second time I added a little more beef stock because I was using a lot of vegetables & used peach/mango chutney instead of regular. Thank you for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Best Pot Roast I have ever had. The ingredients blended so well specially in the crock pot (7 hrs on low). The chutney made the sauce nice and thick. I used 2 cups broth for my 1.5 to 2 lbs chuck roast (just like more sauce specially when it's yummy - perfect over steamed rice).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Roast was tough and too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amboy, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
After all of the positive reviews, I was really looking forward to making this pot roast. And it was very good, but the depth of flavor I expected from the exotic ingredients wasn't quite there. I would definitely make this again, but I think I'd use more of everything, and use a chunkier chutney than the Crosse & Blackwell Major Grey's mango chutney I had in the cupboard. The combination of the fruit and beef was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This is an excellent dish. My only change is that I use fresh garlic and fresh ginger. It's even better the next day. Plan on making it for a casual party and serving on rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wilde4art

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Very tasty, I put mine in the crock pot and let it cook on low 6-8 hours. About 2 hours before it's done I dump in a 16oz bag of baby carrots. I also use 4 cups of beef broth. I double the seasonings as well. Yummy with homemade mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rocksteady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
My husband is not a big fan of pot roast. When he smelled it in the oven he called me and said, "If this tastes as good as it smells, it should be terrific". Well it did. It was terrific. I did use fresh garlic since I do not keep garlic powder in my cupboard and the chutney I had on had was apple and cranberry. It was served over penne pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This is an absolutely delicious dish. I am not a fan of "chuck" pot roast but had it in my freezer. The flavors are exotic and rich; very balanced flavors. Despite the fact that it is a cheap cut of meat it is definitely company worthy. I will make again for sure. Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
With all the rave reviews, I thought I would also try this despite the odd ingredients. We were not satisfied with it as a pot roast. The next day we ate it like pulled pork sandwiches and it worked since it was so sweet. But, we will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pritty1npink

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 71-80 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States