Spiced Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I left out the raisins and chutney as well. I simply coated the roast with the seasoned flour, browned in a dutch oven all sides well in a hot pan. Sprinkled the spices on (garlic, ginger, curry and 2 sachets of beef bouillon instead of broth) and then poured water overtop. Cooked it in my convection toaster oven for 2-2 1/2 hours and it was very good. Skipping the browning in the dutch oven will eliminate the yummy crust, which is kinda dumb. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sackville, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Cold Lake, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This is a great new way to have roast. I will definitly be making this again. I think I will cut out the step of putting flour on the roast and browning it. It just doesn't seem necessary and I want to cut the calories by not using flour. I cooked it in the crock pot for about 6 hours. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Outstanding! The flavour definitely lived up to the amazing aroma while it was cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEdwards77

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
This is my first review but I could not let this go by without telling you how much my family and I loved this. Sounds strange and my family has strange eating likes and dislikes. 100% rave reviews. Loved it and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winthrop, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I enjoyed this but my husband thought it was too sweet. My changes were no curry, adding craisins instead of raisins, adding 2 bay leaves and using peach preserves because I didn't have chutney. The slow cooker made it nice and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Nice and easy. Hubby loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This was wonderful! I just purchased a Le Creuset oval dutch oven and I used this recipe to break it in. I basically prepared as directed but I used "sweet ancho chili relish" instead of chutney and craisins instead of raisins. I also added red potatoes and baby carrots the last hour of cooking. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This pot roast was delicious! It was a flavorful, comforting meal for a chilly evening. My husband ate his with rice and I enjoyed mine with garlic mashed potatoes. I made a couple of modifications--I didn't have chutney on hand, nor the raisins, so I improvised and chopped up a large gala apple and added that to the mixture. I used minced garlic instead of garlic powder (about 2 tablespoons). I also added about 2 tablespoons of paprika. I added extra onions for flavor (I put in about one and a half large onions). Instead of using a dutch oven, I used my crockpot. I added 32 oz of beef broth and let it "crock" on high for 6 hours. The beef was fabulous that evening, and even better the next day when we cooked it again for another hour and-a-half on the stove in a large saucepan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Made this without the raisins, and per another reader' suggestion, used hot mango chutney. It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Fantastic....the whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States