Spiced Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
This was SO good--it really might be one of my favorite dishes ever. I was a little nervous about it because of the curry and chutney, but the whole family LOVED it, even my non-raisin loving husband. I made it as is in the crockpot except that I added a little cayenne and put in some baby carrots toward the end, and served it with mashed potatoes. I will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
This roast has a delightfully sweet, warm flavor! I pureed the raisins and added carrots and finglerling potatoes for the last hour. My husband had seconds and it's tough to get him to try anything with curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
My family loves this. I brown the meat and then toss it all in the slow cooker in the morning. By the time I arrive home from work, it is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
This was tender and tasty. I was concerned about the ingredients, but had to try it because of all the five star ratings. It was one of the best roasts I have made. It is a sweet sauce, but works well with the meat. I may try it with a different chutney, or without, for variation. However, it is great as is. My son even left off the ketchup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Followed the directions as indicated, substituted pitted dates for raisins because that is what I had in the pantry. Yummy and easy - super flavourful - good gravy consistency with all the flour added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I've made this several times now, each time in the crock pot. Seven hours later, voila--one fantastic pot roast! I use either chuck roast or rump roast, whichever's on sale at Whole foods. In the slow cooker a chuck roast turns out nice and tender. If you can spare the extra money, though, the rump roast is leaner and has a nice clean flavor. I like to use two cloves of garlic and less garlic powder, but otherwise, this recipe is perfect as is (and I'm not much of a meat-eater)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Outstanding! I dont give 5 stars generously on this site and this one really impressed me. Unusual ingredients come together to make a savory pot roast that melts in your mouth. I think it is only fair to rate a recipe that has been made as originally written and NOT with my modifications. I only omitted the chutney because I didnt have any and made NO substitutions and cooked as directed in a dutch oven. My roast was only 2 lbs and was falling apart, melt in your mouth tender after 2 hours in a Le Creuset dutch oven. Dont skip the flour and browning step, it seals the juices in the meat and thickens the sauce as it cooks. ULTRA YUMMY as I say.... Try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I made this roast tonight in my slow cooker. Although the ingredients were a little strange, it was excellent. I love curries and was expecting the gravy to be more like a curry than traditional gravy, but it was more traditional than I expected. I served it with a Persian rice and lentils from this site, but next time I would do mashed potatoes. If you're using a slow cooker I would reduce the beef broth to one cup, but keep the spices the same. Excellent--can't wait for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jesusitadelnorte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
My German boyfriend thought this was delicious. I used a chuck roast, and when done, took it out, shredded it, then added it back to the broth. I enjoyed the leftovers when the sauce had intensely flavored the meat. No changes necessary. Served it with sauteed cabbage. Great comfort meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChattTraveler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This recipe was excellent! Followed the instructions to a tee. Added a little red cayenne pepper to the flour mixture. After the baking was done, took the roast out of the dutch oven, put it on the stove at medium-high heat and added corn starch to make gravy. The flavors in this dish knocked my socks off!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jolena74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paris, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States