Spiced Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
It wasn't as good as I expected. This is an easy recipe for beginners, but nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I absolutely loved how beautifully this turned out! So tender! Glad I browned it first. I didn't care to thicken up the gravy too much. It was good somewhat loose. I'm sure I'll make this again. My whole family enjoyed and I felt proud. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Amazing! This was my first time making a pot roast and I decided to break in our new crock pot. (It was also my first time using one of those!) I don't like spicy foods, so I used a sweet mango chutney instead of hot. I also used Turmeric instead of curry powder and a pinch of Cheyenne pepper. Browned the meat on the stove and put everything in the crock pot. After 7 hours, I mixed corn starch with cool water and put it in the pot to thicken the gravy more. My boyfriend and neighbors could not get enough! Everyone went back for 2nds and 3rds. Not a morsel left! This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
AWESOME! This roast was a huge hit and even my husband ate it and he doesn't like "pot roast". He actually asked for me to make another one for a special occasion the same week! I had to alter the recipe slightly by using a homemade chutney since I had none on hand and cant find it in the grocery stores locally. I used Homemade strawberry preserves and heated them in a pot with 1/4 c onions, 2 TBSP balsamic vinegar, 2 TBSP lemon juice, and 1/8 c sugar. I simmered this while I was preparing the roast and then added the rest of the ingredients to the pot while the chutney was still simmering then poured it over the roast in the crock pot and cooked it for 6 hours. It was SO tender and SO yummy! Highly recommended and I don't do that often! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brandon, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
This was very good and moist. I didn't have chutney so cut up a ripe mango and it was fine. I liked the hint of curry without being overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Very tasty dish and quite easy to prepare. The recipe called for chutney however it did not specify the type so I opted for tomato chutney. At prep time I discovered that I was out of curry powder and ground ginger. I supbstituted fresh grated ginger and red thai curry paste. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I have to say I was pretty disappointed with this recipe. I followed it perfectly and it filled the house with such a great aroma that I was expecting a lot of flavor. It turned out to be suprisingly tasteless. It's not easy to make either...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
Five Stars all the way! I made this last weekend and we loved it! Usually I find pot roast slow cooked dry not this one! Excellent. Thanks it's a saver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Very good. I don't usually like meat that is cooked in/with fruit, but this is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Troy Nelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Really great flavor I used a mango chutney which gave it a sweet flavor. I was really surprised at how well this came out. The Honey roasted red potatoes worked great for a side for this dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States