Spiced Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Delicious! My husband and I love this recipe, very simple and has great flavor - we didn't have chutney on hand, and used dried cranberries instead of raisins. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and the meat came out lovely and tender. We like curry, but this sauce had a very strange taste. I ended up making some instant gravy to have the meat. Would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Okay, I need some help...I made this recipe and it ended up burning all along the bottom, I was able to salvage some jam etc...off the bottom and make some gravy. I was so dissapointed that it burned but it still tasted okay, I would love to try it agian since it had to many great reviews. But...what did I do wrong, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
This didn't come out at all. I followed the directions exactly and the liquid was hard as a rock when it was done. Not sure what happened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
My husband and kids could not stop raving about this roast. Additionally, I am not a roast fan. Never have been. But I was sopping up ever but of the juice I could. YUMMY! I didn't have the chutney but it didn't matter. I didn't add the raisins either. I did what others suggested by browning the meat first and then placing the roast in a crockpot. (I was looking for a crockpot recipe in the first place.) I also cooked the onions in oil before adding them to the crockpot. Not sure if that ultimately made a difference. Thank you Frances for sharing such a yummy dinner. Everyone agrees that this is a definite do-over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mason&MitchellsMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
One of family's favorite roast to make. I was a little hesitant the first time making this because of the unusual mix of flavors but it all works great together! I throw all the ingredients (minus the oil) in a crock pot with some carrots and potatoes and let it cook. Also as one reviewer suggested i use a hot mango chutney.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pandasweet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
This recipe turned out excellently. Wonderful flavor, and looked nice. My wife was not a fan of the raisins that plumped as the roast cooked; however, she said that it was still really good and the kids loved it as well. Will make again with perhaps a substitute for the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hayden, Alabama, USA
Living In: Pell City, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
First time I made this it was incredible. My MIL who is an excellent cook raved (which doesn't always come easy!). The second time I made it I didn't get the same flavor. Not sure why and will attempt to make again tomorrow. I follow the recipe to a tee but do cook in a crock pot as I love the roast to fall apart. Don't omit the raisins. The flavor of the chutney, raisins, curry and ginger is what makes this so wonderful. It is such a balanced flavor. I bet my problem the 2nd time was not adjusting the ingredients to a larger cut of meat. That would be it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Let me begin by saying that, aside from the roast and the flour and oil, I had none of the ingredients for this recipe. I used French onion soup instead of beef broth, no onion, garlic cloves inserted in the roast instead of garlic powder, and a dash of cinnamon, thyme, paprika, and cumin. It turned out amazing! I added about 1/3 a cup of red cooking wine for the extra gravy and the taste was rich and delicious. This is a very forgiving recipe and easy to improvise with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Don't change a thing! Make it as is and you won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States