Spiced Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Delicious! My husband and I love this recipe, very simple and has great flavor - we didn't have chutney on hand, and used dried cranberries instead of raisins. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and the meat came out lovely and tender. We like curry, but this sauce had a very strange taste. I ended up making some instant gravy to have the meat. Would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Okay, I need some help...I made this recipe and it ended up burning all along the bottom, I was able to salvage some jam etc...off the bottom and make some gravy. I was so dissapointed that it burned but it still tasted okay, I would love to try it agian since it had to many great reviews. But...what did I do wrong, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
This didn't come out at all. I followed the directions exactly and the liquid was hard as a rock when it was done. Not sure what happened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
My husband and kids could not stop raving about this roast. Additionally, I am not a roast fan. Never have been. But I was sopping up ever but of the juice I could. YUMMY! I didn't have the chutney but it didn't matter. I didn't add the raisins either. I did what others suggested by browning the meat first and then placing the roast in a crockpot. (I was looking for a crockpot recipe in the first place.) I also cooked the onions in oil before adding them to the crockpot. Not sure if that ultimately made a difference. Thank you Frances for sharing such a yummy dinner. Everyone agrees that this is a definite do-over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mason&MitchellsMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
One of family's favorite roast to make. I was a little hesitant the first time making this because of the unusual mix of flavors but it all works great together! I throw all the ingredients (minus the oil) in a crock pot with some carrots and potatoes and let it cook. Also as one reviewer suggested i use a hot mango chutney.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pandasweet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
This recipe turned out excellently. Wonderful flavor, and looked nice. My wife was not a fan of the raisins that plumped as the roast cooked; however, she said that it was still really good and the kids loved it as well. Will make again with perhaps a substitute for the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hayden, Alabama, USA
Living In: Pell City, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
First time I made this it was incredible. My MIL who is an excellent cook raved (which doesn't always come easy!). The second time I made it I didn't get the same flavor. Not sure why and will attempt to make again tomorrow. I follow the recipe to a tee but do cook in a crock pot as I love the roast to fall apart. Don't omit the raisins. The flavor of the chutney, raisins, curry and ginger is what makes this so wonderful. It is such a balanced flavor. I bet my problem the 2nd time was not adjusting the ingredients to a larger cut of meat. That would be it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Let me begin by saying that, aside from the roast and the flour and oil, I had none of the ingredients for this recipe. I used French onion soup instead of beef broth, no onion, garlic cloves inserted in the roast instead of garlic powder, and a dash of cinnamon, thyme, paprika, and cumin. It turned out amazing! I added about 1/3 a cup of red cooking wine for the extra gravy and the taste was rich and delicious. This is a very forgiving recipe and easy to improvise with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Don't change a thing! Make it as is and you won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States