Spiced Plum Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
This was a perfect way to use some leftover plums!My family never likes fruit on thier meat but they LOVED this!!!i didnt use a slow cooker so I put it on low (250)in the oven for 2 1/2hrs...covered!It was alittle dry but the flavor was wonderful and the plums gave it alil juice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
My family loved this recipe. We picked the plums off of our tree and substituted the pineapple juice for crushed pineapple. We put it all in the crockpot on low for about 6 hours. Will make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kandra Stephen Palmer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
This was delicious and smelled so good while it was cooking! I doubled the plums and reduced the cooking time to about 6 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Good but not phenomenal. A nice way to use plums that are going bad. Still, a bit too sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
It was good. I liked it, and my wife liked the pork - but she's not big on cook fruits. Fairly simple to throw together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Really good, used pluots because I had them. Smelled excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Womp Womp....I made this exactly as stated and was way less than impressed...how it managed sweet and bland at the same time I'll never know but this is definetly not going to be made again in my home
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momto2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
After reading the reviews left by others, I decided to use boneless pork butt steaks, as they do not dry out as quickly as boneless pork loin chops. I cooked the recipe for 3 hours on high, and it was done perfectly - juicy and tender. My family liked the meat, but they don't like runny sauce. So I tried straining the juices, skimming the fat off and thickening them to make a sauce to serve over rice. I didn't get it thick enough, and so that part was kind of disappointing. Next time I would try using 4 TBSP flour to thicken it, instead of 2. I also used less vinegar - 2 tsp, and I used red wine vinegar, because I thought that flavor would go better. I know it is not fair to rate a recipe when you don't make it exactly as posted, but I thought these changes might be useful to someone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Everyone was really looking forward to this recipe, including me. Unfortunately we were all disappointed. Most times I check reviews before I make a recipe, this time I didn't get the chance and I'm sorry I didn't. I didn't cook these a second longer than the 8 hours called for in the recipe and the pork chops were so dry, it was unbelievable. The flavours did not turn out as hoped. I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlene Bucci

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This would have been 5 stars had I cut the cook time by about 2 hours - will try again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cajun Spiced Pork Chops

These tasty chops make an easy weeknight dinner with spices you have on hand.

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States