Spiced Plum Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
This recipe did not work for me. It was burned on the outside and uncooked inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
When I baked this, it browned on the top really quickly and did not cook through. However, when I ate the cooked parts, it was really delicious. I may try this again and try cooking it at 325 instead of 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
My sister and I made this and followed the recipe exactly. The batter was way too thick and needed some milk to thin it some. I was not a fan of the spices with the plums. I will never make this recipe again. It isn't moist at all and tastes really bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by italiangirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
We have a very prolific plum tree in our yard and I have been looking for recipes that would help use them up when I stumbled upon this one. The bread is very good and easy to make! It received 4 out of five stars based on the fact that I did change the recipe a bit by adding 1/4 cup of milk and 1/4 cup of applesauce based on other reviewers recommendations. I also only cooked it 50 min and it was a bit burned on edges. I will make this again, but next time at 325 degrees for 45 min. Overall the bread is yummy! I loved the walnuts and cloves and will make it again as my tree still has a ton of plums on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I had a can of plums on hand and had no idea what to do with them, so after looking up "canned plums" on the ingredient-only tool I found this recipe. I wish I had looked up just "plums" (as I did later) because there seem to be a good variety of plum bread recipes that look better than this one. While I loved the spiciness of the cloves, the batter was far too thick and dry before I took others' advice and added 1/4 cup milk and an extra egg, and the cooking time called for dried out my loaf and made the edges burn, even though I took it out of the oven ten minutes early. I probably won't make this again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sicily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
The plums have been changed from fresh to canned to more closely match the submitted recipe. Fresh, firm plums do not have the moisture needed for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
As written this is just a three star bread. Way too dry as othere have written. There was nothing special about it the first time I made it. The second time I did not peel the plum but instead placed them in a food processor and chopped them. I used 2 full cups of chopped plum and added a 1/4 cup of brown sugar to counteract the tartness. The bread turned out to be much better but still not exactly what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Yum! I used two cups of blended plums and this recipe was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This was dry and dense and by the time the interior was cooked, the outside was burnt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Great use of abundant plums! The dough was pretty dry, but the plums were overripe, so after adding them to the dough it was perfect consistency - no need to add more liquid as others have done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HipChickDigs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Strawberry Bread

A delicious bread made with fresh strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States