Spiced Pickled Beets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
This is a very good recipe. We really liked it. Our only problem, a bit strong on the cloves. I will cut back next time but other than that this is a good old fashioned recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
liked it a lot.I used SPLENDA instead of sugar and pickling spice and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Naples, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I used fresh beets for this recipe, and added extra on the spices. I made them a few days ahead so the seasoning could really develop. They were a big hit. Most recipes call for more sugar, so I was really glad these didn't. Very good, will be making them again for my next BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Don't usually like beets but they're so healthy, wanted to find something that made them edible. This recipe is it. Great on a salad or a garnish for a martini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mitchell, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Sidney, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I made this recipe a couple of weeks ago and loved it. I did however add more sugar and a stick of cinnamon. I don't have a garden so I bought canned beets that were on sale at the grocer. Any brand will do. I make them in bulk so I use 10 cans of beets, which makes about 10 pint jars. Multiply everything about 5 times. For every cup of vinegar I used about 3/4 cup of sugar. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Stanford, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Loved this. Spices were just right. I used fresh beets (so therefore did not have any beet juice and added extra water instead) and it still turned out well. I also did not have apple cider vinegar on hand so used white wine vinegar instead. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Delish! Our family loves beet salad, so I am always on the look-out for new recipes to give us a bit of variety. This recipe was pretty close to what I have used for years, but the addition of the spices added just that special "something". I used fresh, roasted beets, and I added a small cinnamon stick, as suggested by another reviewer, but otherwise kept to the recipe. This is a keeper, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
i have some kind of hang up that i think pickled beets should be on a holiday table. i used this recipe and made it a couple days ahead and let it sit in the fridge in a jar. very pretty and tasted good. none remained from 4 cans of beets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
These were very good. However next time I will add more sweetness. A tad too sour for my taste. DH liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Gabriel, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bergy
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Very easy quick recipe that produces a very tasty beet pickle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pickled Beets

See how to turn fresh beets into homemade pickles.

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

How to Make Pickled Peppers

See how to make pickled peppers in a delicious and versatile vinegar brine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States