Spiced Pickled Beets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
Yummy! I use a spoonful of packaged "mixed pickling spices" in the vinegar mixture instead of the separate spices, it is the perfect blend for pickled beets. The longer you marinate, the better it gets, so make a double batch! Small whole canned beets work just as well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2004
Super easy and great tasting salad. Easily change spices to suit your own tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2004
Delicious and very easy! I cooked beets from my garden and then followed the recipe. My family devoured them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
This is as good a recipe as you will find for pickled beets. I too cooked it long enough for the onions to soften as they become part of the beets. I think I will also add a cinnamon stick in the next batch. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2003
I used fresh beets from my garden, steamed them until tender, then put them in a large bowl of cold water, and had no pink fingers by peeling them underwater! Otherwise my hands turn beet red! I also used one of those rippled french fry cutters to slice them - a simple hand held tool. I canned some in pint jars (made 4 pints), and will enjoy beets in the dead of winter. This recipe is tasty- just the right spice mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2003
These tasted like Mom used to make! Loved it and would not change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
Absolutely delicious! I wouldn't change a thing on this recipe except I continued cooking the mixture about 1 or 2 minutes after adding the onion to soften a bit. I will make this again and share the recipe with pride.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Ann Rowan Kiraly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2002
This is a wonderful recipe -- it reminds me of my grandmother's homemade pickled beets. I used fresh beets, boiled about 15 min, then peeled, and I added some hardboiled eggs. I marinated everything for a couple of days to make sure it really got that flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2001
Really easy and great tasting. I ate a whole bowl like it was candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2001
I used this recipe to can over half the beets in my garden. I think the pickling mixture is perfect and wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pickled Beets

See how to turn fresh beets into homemade pickles.

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

How to Make Pickled Peppers

See how to make pickled peppers in a delicious and versatile vinegar brine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States