Spiced Pickled Beets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
This is a very good recipe. We really liked it. Our only problem, a bit strong on the cloves. I will cut back next time but other than that this is a good old fashioned recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
liked it a lot.I used SPLENDA instead of sugar and pickling spice and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Naples, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I used fresh beets for this recipe, and added extra on the spices. I made them a few days ahead so the seasoning could really develop. They were a big hit. Most recipes call for more sugar, so I was really glad these didn't. Very good, will be making them again for my next BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Don't usually like beets but they're so healthy, wanted to find something that made them edible. This recipe is it. Great on a salad or a garnish for a martini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mitchell, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Sidney, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I made this recipe a couple of weeks ago and loved it. I did however add more sugar and a stick of cinnamon. I don't have a garden so I bought canned beets that were on sale at the grocer. Any brand will do. I make them in bulk so I use 10 cans of beets, which makes about 10 pint jars. Multiply everything about 5 times. For every cup of vinegar I used about 3/4 cup of sugar. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Stanford, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Loved this. Spices were just right. I used fresh beets (so therefore did not have any beet juice and added extra water instead) and it still turned out well. I also did not have apple cider vinegar on hand so used white wine vinegar instead. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Delish! Our family loves beet salad, so I am always on the look-out for new recipes to give us a bit of variety. This recipe was pretty close to what I have used for years, but the addition of the spices added just that special "something". I used fresh, roasted beets, and I added a small cinnamon stick, as suggested by another reviewer, but otherwise kept to the recipe. This is a keeper, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
i have some kind of hang up that i think pickled beets should be on a holiday table. i used this recipe and made it a couple days ahead and let it sit in the fridge in a jar. very pretty and tasted good. none remained from 4 cans of beets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
These were very good. However next time I will add more sweetness. A tad too sour for my taste. DH liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Gabriel, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bergy
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Very easy quick recipe that produces a very tasty beet pickle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pickled Beets

See how to turn fresh beets into homemade pickles.

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States