Spiced Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Just perfect! They're so addicting! Everyone expects them for the holidays now and they're gone in a flash. Because of some food allergies I tried another recipe that just uses butter instead of egg whites- what a disappointment. These are the best ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
The version my mom does uses 2 egg whites and no water, with 1 cup sugar and 1 tsp cinnamon. Also, she melts 2 sticks of butter into the pan right before she spreads out the pecan/cinnamon mixture. Bake at 325 for 30 min turning every 10 minutes. I think the butter helps keep them from burning and the taste wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I made this with peanuts instead of pecans and they turned out great. Pecaus would be better but I had peanuts on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Not really crazy about these. Would prefer just a sugar coated nut
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taber, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Delicious and a little bit addictive!!! The recipe doesn't state how long to beat the eggs but in a similar recipe I've used, it directed me to beat until very frothy which is what I always do now. It coats the pecans very nicely. I omitted all the spices except cinnamon as I just wanted cinnamon sugared pecans. I toss the egg coated pecans with the seasonings in a large bowl to make sure everything is nicely coated. These make excellent gifts or something nice to sit on the buffet table. Watch the pecans as they can begin to burn quickly. I bake on a sheet lined with foil with nonstick spray and toss them in the middle of the cooking so they brown evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
my family just loved these.everyone wanted recipe will make again not only for special occasions but all the time as every day is special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Add the spices directly to the egg mixture before coating the pecans. Bake at 250 degrees for 1 hr instead of the higher temperature to set the coating but not overbake the pecans. Stir at 15 minute intervals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
My co-worker brought these in to our company potluck and they were SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy L

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
What a great treat. My husband and friends love them. I used brown sugar instead of white, and the only spice I used was cinnamon, and they still turned out excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I added 1/2 c. brown sugar also and I like the flavor. In error, I added too much cinnamon. They are still very good, but I will get that right the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Glazed Pecans

Learn how to make this quick and easy, sweet and savory snack.

Sugar Coated Pecans

See how to make the perfect sweet snack.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States